About Crypton00b (Introduceyourself)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello,  

I am no older than 20, and I have already been able to pay for my full college tuition, by a house and a car- all before my life has really started, and buy using my life’s saving to bet on the future of currency…

 My online Steemit name is Crypton00b. I chose this pseudonym  because I am semi new to the whole crypto-relm(the actual science behind it). I am no expert in any technicalities (not at the moment at least), but by joining this community I hope I can learn more about the block chain. My blog will probably not focus that much on cryptos, but rather a whole variety of topics. These include memes, news, predictions and  a bit of politics. Politically- I would describe myself as a centrist. I lean left or right, depending on the topic at hand.  

My crypto story

 I was first introduced into crypto's around 2013-2014 where people like linustechtips were making “Bitcoin Mining Rig” videos. These videos were popping up all over my homepage, and I had the faintest idea of what a Bitcoin even was. After some research- I was hyped up, ready to buy the latest tech in order to become rich. The only problem was that I didn’t have the money-nor was I old enough to get a job. I lost all interest…

 Until last year, I had not kept up with the community. I had gotten my job that I so desperately wanted- but I’d forgotten all about my dreams of becoming a crypto millionaire- that was until Bitcoin's price peaked, and so did my interests. I decided that I would mine Monero coin, but to my dismay I found that I wasn’t getting profits that I so much had hoped for.  I decided that it would be more profitable to invest money into coins, rather than mining. The money I had been saving-to buy a car with during the past few years ($10,000) I threw into Monero.It payed off big time…. 

I put all my eggs in one basket, Monero was my ticket to becoming successful. I did not tell my parents as they would not understand. In addition I spent the next few months paranoid that the coins would be stolen,or that a market crash would occur. In the end I see the investment worth the reward, as I decided that a rough cash out of 400,000$ was good enough for me.  


My take on the crypto environment

As I see it, the market is ruled by newbies investing into every coin they see on YouTube. As I was once in the position that these people are in- I can’t help but feel that there are so many misleading content creators on YouTube These crypton00bs invest into every coin/ICO they see on  YouTube, regardless of how practical these coins are. Often these coins are backed by “expert” youtubers who parrot other youtubers word for word without any proper research into the intrinsic value of these coins. This has led to a market of FOMO where new investors have inflated the prices of  a lot of sh*t coins. In addition I have seen so many unrealistic “price predictions” that do not even take into consideration the market cap and the circulating supplies of coins  

 Confirmation Biases are also a big problem. If you were to find the lowest ranked coin on C.M.C, you would find a cultish fanbase- who dismiss any bad news the coin receives. whilst shilling it to the extremes.I will admit, it is good to be skeptical of FUD, but sometimes people can't recognize/don't want to admit they're wrong,so they shill- which may eventually inflate the price. This may be a short time strategy to investing, but one I would not choose...

 My predictions for the future of Crypto currencies   

I think governments will eventually step in and introduce their own digital currency’s that will be mandatory, and used along side the current stack of cryptos we have. By that time it should be expected that  fiat currencies will have died out, people will be using digital ledgers for 100% of their transactions. Whilst on this topic, I don’t like this idea of a cashless society, or a  government controlled centralized currency, as it could be used as a  means of oppression. The likes of which, are similar to the dystopian novels by George Orwell 1984 and Animal Farm.  Until that day where we move to a cashless society, governments will regulate the sh*t out of crypto’s- making it them more difficult to obtain/hold.   

My views and the election and politics. 

I didn’t like trump or Hillary. At the same time I didn’t  like how the mainstream media was attacking Trump for everything he did/does. 

Conclusion 

I am writing this introduceyourself quickly, I don't really think there's much here, and I ain't much of a writer...

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, I also am new to the space and I enjoyed reading your journey through the depths of the crypto world. While tuff it can be very rewarding which by your story I can tell it has. Thanks for sharing this post I'd hope to see more of you on the platform.

Welcome to this steemit family ! i hope you enjoy here and You will love it. @arvindkumar Follow Upvote Resteem

Hi @crypto-n00b. Nice profit with Monero. :)

Welcome to steemit @crypto-n00b. Glad to have you. Follow me if you may, I'll follow back ☺ Look forward to seeing your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59