You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A personal hero: One of my favorite people in the world❤

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Isn't it amazing how the most remarkable people we are lucky enough to have in our lives get older but their spirit never ages. I love the picture of her having a beer, very funny. A few years back I was at a good friend's grandparents' house after his grandfather had passed away. He lived an amazing life for 87 years. His wife, also 85 years old. was definitely blind sided with the grief but she has always been such a relentless person for the several years I had known them since I had known my lifelong (38 years) friend. In the middle of the day her neighbor from across the street walked gingerly across the street, she is 90 years old at the time, and sits by Charlene (my friend's grandmother). Then the 90 year old lady hands her a cigarette and told her "You probably need one today." There were little kids sitting there and Charlene tells her son, who is like 60, "Yeah girls this how you live to be old" as she and her old lady friend are each puffing on their cigarettes (she never quit 50 years ago, literally smoked one a day, no joke). Funny, but very sweet lady. She is extremely kind but at the same time tough as nails. She reminded me of Mickey (that is her tough side) the trainer in the movie Rocky, if you'd ever seen that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45