A new player has entered the arena

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steem.  Larry "Crell" Garfield here.  Word is you're supposed to start with one of these introduction posts, so here I am.  Feels like filling out a dating site profile...

I'm generally fairly negative on Cryptocurrency in general, to be honest.  Most of it smells of pyramid scheme to me, or wishful thinking, but a few blockchain applications do seem to me to have potential value.  Steem is one of them, so here I am.

You can generally blame @lukestokes for my presence here.  (Whether that's to his credit or not we'll find out eventually.)

I'm a long-time software developer, particularly working with PHP on the web and the Drupal CMS.  If you are even tangentially related to the PHP community you've probably seen me presenting at a conference somewhere, or heard of me as "that guy who wouldn't shut up about Drupal and migrating it to OOP code" sometime in the past ten years.  These days I've largely moved on from Drupal but not from tech.

If the above paragraph is just so much mumbo jumbo to you, read it as "professional computer nerd".  Although these days I do mostly tech writing and developer relations, not coding.

My personal blog for the past many years is over at https://www.garfieldtech.com/.  How much I'll continue to post there vs. on Steem, I guess we'll find out together.

As far as what I'll be posting here, I don't know yet.  Some tech stuff, probably.  Some controversial political stuff to keep it at least slightly away from my normal professional channels, probably.  (Chances are I will piss off both the left-wing and the right-wing at some point, maybe at the same time if I do it right.)  Some stuff about my new hobby bladesmithing, maybe.  Beyond that, we'll have to see.

I'm mostly active on Twitter, where I can be found at https://twitter.com/Crell, if for some strange reason you need a Crell fix in between posting here.  (Although why you'd want that I don't know...)

Oh yes, and the obligatory Steem-Selfie:

And if you want to see my first blade creation (because I'm kinda proud of it even if you don't care):

That's hand-forged, hand-polished railroad spike steel with a walnut handle.

(Now let's see how badly I formatted all of that...)

Sort:  

wow ! first of all welcome to steemit . a best way of introduction .

Welcome welcome, listen soon you are going to want to buy Luke a cruise vacation. Steem has incredible potential and someone with your experience can make this place a home in mere weeks.

I wish you much success

He can buy his own cruise vacation! :-) (I think he already has...)

Welcome to steemit!

As far as what I'll be posting here, I don't know yet.

I also struggled at first to come up with something to persistently write on, as I've never seen myself as a blogger. However, seeing as I spent a lot of time finding ,reading and sharing stories on tehcnology and science mostly relevant to the space sector where I work, I figured I could just take some time to write down what I found fascinating or interesting about whatever I was reading about, and then share and explain that with people on steemit.

I think we all have some ideas we would love to share, and steemit is a great place to do so.

Anyways, happy to have you here!

Heh, the tricky part for me is channeling. I've had my own tech blog for the last decade, which is part of my professional profile. I also blog for my employer and they want me to put basically any arbitrary tech stuff there, too. So that leaves largely "off topic random stuff" (which I rarely post about in public anyway) or "things too politically touchy to associate with professionally" (which includes, well, basically anything these days). So, yeah, I figure this is where I'll piss people off. :-P

I'm super glad you're sharing the cool stuff you're involved in. :)

Have not been much of a blogger too but just reading this your contribution is given a newbee like me some direction on how to start kudos

welcome to steemit..!! followed

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to #Steemit! :)

Welcome to the best site on the interwebs!

Welcome to the club. And very nice blade. :)

What's up Playa....Glad you're here, computer coder dude...a keyboard in one hand and a hand forged blade in the other.......I'm oddly interested!

It's what I do: I code and I make knives...

Congratulations @crell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17