A daytraders introduction to Steemit!

Hello, Steemit! I have heard so many great things about Steemit and I have now decided to join this wonderful community. 

My name is Jimmy, I'm 26 years old and I live in a small city outside Stockholm, Sweden where I was born and raised. I'm living at a horse ranch with my wife and our wonderful cat. (I love animals)

I am a self-employed day trader with a focus on the foreign exchange market and has been for the past 8 years. Trading has always been one of my biggest passions since I first heard about it in high-school, and from that point, I was certain what I would work with for the rest of my life.

A journey -

I've always had big goals, even as a kid but school was not one of them. Teachers have always told me that I was a smart kid, that I could be anything I wanted in life if I only studied, but I had bigger dreams than going to school, bigger dreams than the 9-5 job that I've seen my parents work their asses off just to put food on the table for the family. So when I was 15 I decided to quit school, I had just heard of the stock market and that was what I was going to do if it just was that simple. 

My parents didn't really care that I was going to quit school, as long as I did get a job and could help to put food on the table they were happy. Well since I quickly noticed that I couldn't open an account with any broker since I was only 15 I had to do something else until the age of 18, so I got myself a job as a janitor. Worked a couple days a week and could save up a good amount of starting capital until I could open a brokerage account.

For those 3 years, I had a couple different jobs but on the side of that I kept on studying the market, tried to find as much educational material as I could on the internet but it was hard. There was a lot of information, but it was hard to tell if the information was good or bad and this were also when I did read about the foreign exchange market or forex. I felt that it would suit me better and I started paper trading with the knowledge I had and what I did learn along the way. 

When I turned 18 I decided to open my first trading account with a broker, I deposited about 70% of my savings ($7000) and was confident that I would make a lot of money and that my life was going to take a turn, but I was so wrong. I didn't realise that the knowledge I had was both wrong and that it wasn't enough to become a successful trader, so over a few weeks, I burned the whole account. The biggest problem I had was the trading psychology, I couldn't control my emotions, and I knew nothing about money management and risk management.

I don't want to make this introduction much longer, but from that point, I realised that I was not finished at all and that I had so much more to learn. Shortly after that I did read about some money management and I made a new deposit of the money I had left in my savings account, but this time I was careful and only placed small trades at a time to learn and to control my emotions.

I have now been a full-time day trader for the past 8 years, this is my main source of income and I love it.

My current trading setup:

What do I want to do here on Steemit?

Well my plans here on Steemit is to connect with people. But the main reason I'm here is to help people, I will therefore post all my techincal analysis right here on Steemit for people to learn from, not a signal service of some kind, just my views and thoughts about the market. I will also post educational material regarding trading, this is to provide those who are willing to learn access to great content so they can learn the right way from the start.

Please give me a follow if you want to learn or just like trading.

Kind Regards,

Jimmy (Crank420)

Sort:  

Nice introduction Jimmy. Welcome to Steemit!

I trade binary options and have dabbled in forex as well. You may enjoy @carinnm. He works as an options trader and posts a journal of his trades with analysis on his thought process.

Hello and thank you! I will give you and @carinnm a follow. It's always good to connect with people :)

Yes indeed! I look forward to discussing ideas with you as you post more.

I follow you now, but when I click on the profile that you linked to I only get an error that the profile doesn't exist. Did you maybe mistyped by accident ? :)

Thank you, now I can give him a follow ;)

Welcome Jimmy! Great intro BTW

Thank you! :)

Your welcome.. always wanted to be a day trader :)

Well it's never to late! Make sure you follow me so you can read the content I'm going to post :)

Will do, following you now!

Welcome / Välkommen till Steemit! :)
Nice Setup du har! Blir lite avis ;)

Tack! Haha, inget måste precis men det är skönt med lite arbetsyta 😀

Thank you so much! :)

Welcome to steemit @crank420. I am sure you will do well here

Thank you! :)

Welcome to steemit, I have you a follow 😀

Thank you! I will follow you aswell! :)

Hello and a warm welcome :-)

Welcome dear "neighbor" to the Steemit community :D It is nice to have some more Scandinavians here.

Thank you! It most certainly is :)

I look forward to your experiences. I attempted Forex trading years ago and quickly and repeatedly lost my (simulated) investment. A friend of mine went all in with his savings and lost it in a couple weeks. Challenging business, the emotional pressure to over leverage was too much!

Thank you! Well, it's a challenging business that's for sure, but with the correct knowledge and a lot of training, nothing is impossible. I know a lot of successful traders that has proven that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59484.75
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41