You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having A Son With Down Syndrome - An Introduction To Aiden

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I also have a child with Down Syndrome. She's an almost 10 year old who does the exact same thing with the box of tissues. She would also unravel all the TP like a kitty cat when she was younger. Looking forward to exchanging funny stories, as I have many! Welcome.

Sort:  

That's so funny because I have seen certain behaviors throughout children with down syndrome that stand out. I'll be thinking that my kid is unique in certain ways and them one day I'll see a random kid with down syndrome doing the same stuff. Thanks for the share and look forward to hearing your stories some day.

@groovy I know exactly what you mean. I'll observe other people with down syndrome in public and I swear they make the exact same cheesy grin as my daughter. Come on you know what I'm talking about right?? I assume you've at least heard about that show

"Born This Way"
http://www.aetv.com/shows/born-this-way

I see so many of the same behaviors/mannerism's as my daughter....it's kinda funny

My god, that down syndrome smile. I've never really thought about it before, but there really isn't anything else quite like it in the world is there? I think it truly is proof of God. You just feel so much love and warmth radiating from their faces. It makes the challenges worth it doesn't it?

True story, my favorite aunt had that exact same smile. I remember seeing her smile all the time when I was growing up. Always there, whenever I went to my grandmothers. Then when I was about 10 my grandmother died. My aunt was sent away to an assisted living facility and I didn't get to see her again until I was an adult.

She still had the same smile. It felt good to see that smile again. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51