Hi! Like half of these things? I might not bore you to death. | Scifi/Horror Movies | Cooking | Programming | Wildlife ConservationsteemCreated with Sketch.

Greetings, Steemit!

I look alarmed in this picture, possibly annoyed, but I promise I'm not. Also it's from yesterday, so I don't look quite that young anymore.


Hey. It's me.

About Me?

Yeah, okay. I'm a programmer working at a wildlife conservation nonprofit. My job is really satisfying, as I get to work with biologists, technologists, conservationists, and best of all, help learn about animal populations! We are a small team, and work around a single table at a coworking/hackerspace. Machine learning and image analysis is becoming a big part of what we do, and I am totally stoked to learn about and incorporate more of that.

The west in the USA is where I call home, born and raised. I love the forests and the coast here, and that is where I try to be when there is a little down time. I like a nice 50/50 split of easy mode camping in a cabin or yurt, and roughing it.

I'm a big fan of bicycling and walking. Whenever I need to be somewhere that isn't a huge distance away I try to get some exercise on the way there.

Other things I like and do sometimes.

Movies

I'm a big movie watcher. I like scifi and horror particularly. There is a fantastic (and huge) movie rental store in town that carries hard to get films, even VHS tapes (wow!). I've been trying to get off the the Netflix trickle and rent things I might otherwise not find. Sometimes they are really, really bad. I make an effort not to look at the IMDB rating or anything before I make a choice, and just let it happen. It is more than likely I'll review some of these juicy visual morsels here. How about quick list of favorites? In no particular order...

  • Brazil
  • Jurrassic Park
  • Event Horizon
  • Alien
  • Wild Zero
  • Reanimator
  • Blade Runner

    Stuart Gordon FTW

Cooking

I like to cook. My mother taught me how to be improvise and work with what you have in the kitchen. As a result, I'm pretty damn good at throwing things together and making something at least palatable. It's a blast! I'll take pictures and try to record some approximate amounts for dishes in a post, and hopefully communicate my enjoyment of food. Maybe I can share some tips on firing from the hip in meal preparation too.


A standard unit of food.

I really don't eat Ramen very often, but it's so photogenic.

Programming

I've only been programming for a couple years. Wait... Maybe three now. So I'm still learning a ton, and looking forward to learning more every day. I don't have a ton of time to work on personal projects, but I'm trying to throw some data science at crypto market feeds and maybe make an app that can give me terrible investment advice.

I do full stack for work, from the AWS ubuntu instances, SQL all the way to tweaking CSS.
Given my reins though, I prefer hacking at at the back end of the software.
I work primarily in Java, and I like it just fine. Python is becoming a bigger part of my life due to the machine learning more recently.

When I do a coding post, it's probably going to be short and sweet and about a particular problem I had trouble finding a solution to. Maybe I can save you an couple hours of headache pawing through the docs.


Some code or something.

Yikes, what else do I like?

I'm a painter. I do abstract acrylics. Not everybody's cup of tea, but it's mine.

Electronic music suits me just fine, but I like a wide variety of other things too.

I guess I play DND sometimes.

Okay that's it!

If any of this sounds interesting to you, you could always follow me or something.
Or don't, it's your life. Either way, thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Hope to see some content made specifically for the community here.

Thanks! I'm hoping that original cooking and movie oriented posts are something the community will like.

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34