My Belated and Unorthodox Introduction

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

ccrumbsprof.jpg

Greetings Steemians. My name is Maria. It has been just over two weeks since I first joined the Steemit community.

Wait, why did I wait two weeks to do my 'introduce yourself' post?

Who the hell do I think I am, right?

Okay, before pitchfork wielding mobs start forming and chasing me into the decentralized digital woods and burn me at the digital stake — please, chill. I have an explanation.

Originally, I was going to do my introductory post the first day that I joined. However, something told me to hold off — to wait until I had my bearings.

I'm glad I did.

Does any of this sound familiar to you, my fellow new Steemians?

  • You think you know what Steemit is about but you are not entirely sure.
  • STEEM, Steem power and Steem Dollars are terms that you use interchangeably.
  • Powering up? What the hell is that?
  • Plankton? Isn't that what baleen whales eat?
  • Minnows, orkas, dolphins, whales? Are we studying marine biology here?
  • Aww, how cute. Look a Cheetah voted me up. Isn't that sweet?

My first day on Steemit I was naive. I knew nothing of the ways of the Steemit universe. I was just happy to finally be able to get on the platform. (I had to wait 3 weeks for my registration to complete)

Many of you who are new here are probably going through the same platform shock.

Why post my introduction now?

I powered up for the first time yesterday. It was for a modicum sum, but it was my first time and that made it special. Gees, that sounded cheesy, I know.

I still have a lot to learn about Steemit and the platform. I have barely developed a notion of all of the different front-ends that are available. But at least now I know they exist. I'm not caught off-guard anymore.

DApps? The same thing, I had no idea what they were before being here.

Just by spending a couple weeks on Steemit I feel that I have acclimated myself to the barest minimum required to not feel so lost. To actually grasp what can be accomplished and experienced here.

So Here I Am

So, hello world!

Maria, is here. Just another humble content creator.

I hope to one day be able to say that I was on Steemit as early as 2019. To be able to look at everyone's eyes widen when I say that. To be seen as one of the second or third wave of initial users.

To My Fellow Newbies

Don't feel lost. Don't get frustrated. You'll see how after a few days (in my case two weeks) everything begins to make sense in your mind.

It's not a social media spot like Facebook or Twitter. Don't try to apply the same user dynamics from those sites here. It's not some new fangled version of the old Squidoo site either.

If you notice that I'm not posting my own interpretation of what Steemit is, it is because I think everyone will have their on take on it. That's why when you discover about the different front-ends and DApps you will see how things can get exciting. That, however, you should seek on your own. In my opinion your first few days should be as free of external influence as possible.

In short my fellow new plankton — go forth, explore, discover all that Steemit is and never lose sight of everything else that STEEM can power. It is an exciting place to be. Enjoy it.




image credit: my own portrait image

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @cleavagecrumbs!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hello!

I am glad to see you introducing yourself on Steemit! It can be complicated, but let me suggest some helpful tips! It is important to post quality content and to comment on other user's content so people can get to know you, and you can start earning STEEM!

Feel free to comment, upvote & resteem our content so that you can start to earn Steem!

We hope that helps!

Best,

@charitycurator

Hi,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

I've never heard of Squidoo. Was it like Xanga or MySpace?

Squidoo was more like HubPages. As a matter of fact, if memory serves me, Squidoo was acquired by HubPages a few years back.

Squidoo was a good platform. A place to stretch your writing muscles, develop a following, tweak your style — the quintessential fun multi-topic platform to get your message out.

Unfortunately, unscrupulous affiliate marketers and spammers started flooding the site and gaming the system. The user experience began to suffer as a result. Soon it became polluted with useless posts — you know, rehashes of rehashes, plagiarized articles, promotional posts offering no value to the reader, etc.

HubPages, of course, is still around but, while a decent site, it lacks that fervent bite and boldness of the early Squidoo days. It still relies on user-created content, but it is blander — more sanitized and controlled by rules and restrictions imposed by HubPages itself.

I understand HubPages' approach, they had to steer their ship toward a more conformist path in order to avoid Google penalties. Otherwise, their monetization model, which relies heavily on AdSense, would be compromised.

Thanks for those Crumbs of your Cleavage. That's your name, and that makes me laugh, smile, blush, because that's more creative than my nickname, Oatmeal. I think I never did Hub Pages. I did try to do AdSense but never got that to work as YouTube terminated 2 of my channels. Here is an upvote. That is interesting.

Haha you have a great humor just like me :) I really had the feeling that you putted effort in this text. And yeah I`m too new on Steem and also don´t know the answers on that questions :D.
You have a follow and make sure to check out my blog too. :)

Welcome to steemit @cleavagecrumbs.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome to Steem cleavagecrumbs! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87