Let's Get Acquainted!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemit Community!

My name is clayford08. I've been in the crypto market since about 2013. I started my journey by buying a bunch of shitty small usb BTC miners. To my dismay, the reason so many people were selling them was because they had become useless paperweights. Onward, I started buying a little bit of BTC, LTC, and DOGE. I even built a mining rig with 6 GPU's, bricking two of those GPU's in the process. The expenses and the losses on the market really put a sour taste in my mouth. The ups and downs (mainly the downs) caused me to exit the market as abruptly as I had entered. Around that same time Mt Gox was shutting its doors for good. People were leaving Bitcoin the same way I was. It was a really unfortunate time for blockchain tech. I believed in the technology from the moment I read about it but I just couldn't bring myself to invest anymore time and money in to it.

IMG_20140703_165430_769.jpg

Fast forward to December 2015. I had just started getting back on to my bitcointalk account and reading about interesting projects. One that really caught my eye was EverGreenCoin, an Eco-Friendly coin that was designed to help raise money for reforestation and renewable energy developments. I immediately jumped on board and started discussing ideas with the developer. Pretty soon we had made a friendly partnership. He went on to offer me the spot of marketing director. I humbly accepted. Many great things have come from that project and I still check in on it frequently. However, due to time constraints, I had to step down from that position. I still strongly support everything that team is doing.

EGC.png

Right around that same time frame, I started doing some research on the Ethereum project. I immediately noticed the huge potential that something like this project could have on blockchain technology. The idea of having decentralized applications built on top of a blockchain was utterly astounding. I invested when it was selling on the exchanges for $.96 an Ether. This isn't a fairy tale story, though. I eventually sold all of my Ether when it reached $10. I really wanted to pay off some debt that I had been hanging on to and I had already made a killing on the market. I punched out but I never forgot about Ethereum. it was always in the back of my mind.

ethereum0103-730x486.jpg

Enter today. I've been day trading cryptocurrencies for a while now and I've been holding long term investments as well. I've also been mining Ethereum for quite some time. Both sides of the aisle have been profitable. I've had ups and downs (just like any investment portfolio) but for the most part I've done really well. We're finally starting to see some major adoption with this technology and it's such an exciting time. I'd like to share this time with all of you that love blockchain tech. I've started a new show on youtube where I will be discussing startups, investment oppurtunities, developments, and any other blockchain news I can think of. Please come and join me at: https://www.youtube.com/c/clayford08

My first video in my new show was just introducing myself and my background:

My second video that I posted today is titled Top 5 Blockchains of 2017 and I discuss long term investments:

If you like my new channel and want to stay up to date with it, please like, comment, or subscribe. I really appreciate where this community is going and really want to be a part of the movement here at Steem!

Best Regards,
Clayford08

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. Now following you.

Thanks! Back at you!

Cool post! Thank you for sharing!

I really appreciate your comment!

I also started out with those shitty USB miners.
Great post!

Hey, welcome to Steemit!
Interesting journey so far.

Upvoted
@shayne

Good one!
Welcome to steemit!
Upvote and Follow me @digitaldollar.Will follow you as well!

I am new too... even though I joined 8 months ago .. I am finally getting active. I buy BC and have thought of the others like ethereum since they are cheaper.. just staying where I am at for now.. and now of course I have steem :)

Awesome! You're smart to hold and acquire! Thanks for the reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53