Hello There Fellow Action Takers!

Hello Steemit community, you can call me Clairvoyance. I'm from Bosnia and Herzegovina, a small country in the south east Europe. Since my real life name sounds like a bad English word, I am not going to write it yet 😊 It's a common name in my country but it gives me insecurities online. I've been using the name Clairvoyance for 3 years now, since 2014 when I decided to take my life into my own hands.

Clairvoyance (from French clair meaning "clear" and voyance meaning "vision").

I’m a 26-year-old Bachelor of Civil Engineering, and I HATE IT. Civil Engineering was never a topic I was very interested in but coming from a family where the highest education level was high school, I was expected to do well and “forced” into Civil Engineering when I was 19 years old because of the “money” and “job security”. My personal preference was IT, but my parents didn’t understand IT at that time and didn’t see the potential it had because there weren’t any IT jobs in my city and wouldn’t allow me. After struggling with something I hated, it took me 5 years to finish 3 years of Civil Engineering. I hated it, I was depressed, didn’t go out, the burden to finally finish it, get a job, work. Mind you, I was 24 when I finished, and it was the biggest relief I felt in my whole life when I successfully “defended the Bachelor thesis” (this might not be the right English term).

The relief lasted about a month, until I realized that if I get a job I’d have to do this for the next 40 years. I couldn’t let that happen. I had to take things into my own hands and stop playing the victim I played for the last 5. I sat down with my parents (with whom I was still living) and told them I wouldn’t be searching for a Civil Engineering job. They were shocked, frustrated, angry. It was understandable, they invested so much in me and I do this. I felt like a spoiled brat after the first conversation with them. It ended with a lot of fighting, yelling and awkward silence.
I told them I would be financing myself and go for another degree, this time in IT. When I say, finance myself, you have to understand that Bosnia and Herzegovina has the highest youth unemployment rate in the world. I’ll leave a link here if you want to know more about that.

“In Bosnia-Herzegovina, shadows of doubt and malaise hang over life. ... At 57.5 percent, Bosnia-Herzegovina'syouth unemployment rate is the highest in the world, driven by widespread corruption, nepotism and economic stagnation”

My finances came from my online work. It was a lot of freelancing, part time work, some e-commerce and holding onto cryptocurrencies. This was the work I was enjoying doing and I just had to scale it more.

I told them I’d be pursing an IT career and that I’m willing to sacrifice more years of my life, even if it takes me 5 years again to do 3, I wouldn’t mind. Sacrifice 5 more years to be happy or be unhappy for the next 40 years? I had made my choice. I could finally see things clearly… Clairvoyance…

I smashed through the first year of Faculty of Information Technology, passing 9/10 exams on the first try and the last on 2nd try. The motivation I felt was out of this world, I took even more action.
I became an android game consultant for a small British company. Even though I wasn’t paid very well I felt like I was part of something big, I was loyal and did every task with 150% energy and sometimes weeks before deadline. I used that money to grow more money.

My mom is a local boutique owner, I made a Facebook page for her store, arranged a meeting with an Express Delivery company, agreed on a fixed transport fee. I set up Facebook ads which made super amazing returns on investment with about 0,001$ per post engagement. The orders just kept coming it. I took only a smart percentage off the profits to keep the ads running and for everyday expenses. In the first 6 months, from a small local boutique we managed to send our clothes to over 80 towns in my country. I was happy, my parents were happy, but my actions didn’t stop there.

I’ve always been interested in bitcoin, but like everyone it always felt like “it was too late” to join the party. So, I started learning about the blockchain, tokens, currencies and started investing. I’ve never been a day trader. The market is volatile, and it takes too much time to be a day trader. I’d sit on my investment for a while and cash out. I’m very attached to crypto right now and I feel like it is the investment opportunity of a generation. I came here to Steemit to mostly talk about them and most of my future posts are going to be about crypto and taking action in life.

I hope I haven’t annoyed you with my long post and if you stayed with me until the end I want to say thanks, I appreciate it.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @clairvoyance to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome..... to the new world. Cheers.

Congratulations @clairvoyance! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35