MY FIRST HOSPITAL EXPERIENCE

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My first experience as a medical student in the wards was on the 20th of November 2017 (yesterday in nigeria). I was super excited when I was informed i will be going to the ward to see patients not on the basis of visitation but as a student doctor(Hehe).
I woke up, had my bath, wore a very beautiful dress, I did all the girly things you can ever think of because I wanted to look neat and presentable. Snapchat-235423464.jpgThen I rushed to school, on getting there i was told a class was fixed that morning before the ward rounds (mehn i was a little bit unhappy), but it was just an hour class so I coped although i wasn't really concentrating because I was thinking about the ward rounds.
After the class, our course rep divided us into 4 groups; those going to surgery, medicine, obstetrics and gynaecology, and pediatric unit. I really wanted to be in the surgery unit but unfortunately I was assigned to the paediatric unit (this unit sha).
We started going to the wards and on our way i decided to take a quick selfie but my classmates joined and it came out beautiful.IMG-20180118-WA0017.jpgIMG-20180118-WA0020.jpg
We got to paediatric unit and we were told to wait for the senior reg to attend to usSnapchat-879881850.jpg. We waited for about 30minutes before she came, she looked really beautiful and that made me wonder why they said most female medical doctors aren't beautiful.
The hour had come where all you've learnt so far in your preclinicals and introduction to pathology and pharmacology were needed. We met the first patient and the first question she asked was " what are the checklist for history taking in paediatrics?". We were able to answer that because we just learnt it. IMG_20180120_101529.jpgExamination was carried out on the child and the case was presented by a year 5 medical student with presenting complaints of diarrhoea for 2weeks, weight loss and convulsion. The signs were moderate dehydration, irritability and a swelling of the left axillary lymph node. At this point I myself was thirsty and hungry so I immediately rushed out to eat and when I came back a consultant had come and she was now in charge.
We met another patient who had Down syndrome( Down syndrome (DS or DNS), also known as trisomy 21, is a genetic disorder caused by the presence of all or part of a third copy of chromosome 21. It is typically associated with physical growth delays, characteristic facial features and mild to moderate intellectual disability.The average IQ of a young adult with Down syndrome is 50, equivalent to the mental ability of an 8- or 9-year-old child, but this can vary widely. Source :Wikipedia). I have read about Down syndrome in preclinicals but i didn't see anyone with it so you can imagine how i felt when I saw something I've been only reading about. It was awesome to see but not on the side of the patient and family though.
We met the third patient, an albino with a congenital heart defect. The consultant showed us the X-ray of the child and we saw the globular shaped heart which was more on the right and not left(normal position). It wasn't just globular but was also large, the child had respiratory distress syndrome as well.
We met the last child who had anemia, heartfailure and meningitis. An argument came between the consultant and the senior reg on whether or not you can use digoxin for an anemic heart failure, the consultant said no and tge senior reg said yes. But I wanted to say that i just read in my pharmacology textbook that digoxin shouldn't be used for anemic heart failure but i kept quiet because i didn't want to intrude. The consultant asked for a transfusion for the child saying that the child will be okay after that.
After that we were told we could leave and we left but going without taking pictures would be bit off so we took a lot of picturesIMG_20180118_113516.jpgIMG_20180118_113610.jpg
So steemians that was how my day went, i learnt a lot of things, saw a lot of things, witnessed a lot of things and the experience was awesome and I was happy.
Please are free to comment, resteem and UPVOTE. Thanks

Sort:  

Nice to meet you @chuzywhyte🙃
Welcome to Steemit!
Try to get a profile picture!
If you got Instagram you can use my post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@heiner/how-to-use-a-steemit-profile-picture-from-instagram

incredibly proud of you. and the lab coat is a great look you rock it well!

Congratulations @chuzywhyte! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit !! MY SCANNER AUTOMATICALLY SCAN YOU...
Hello and welcome to the community. I followed you and would appreciate a follow back. I'm looking forward to see more posts! Have a great day and have fun. Welcome!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @imtiyaz4u
get back to back in touch for upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97