Where Do I Begin.... (Introducing Myself and my Upcoming Project: Story Mode)

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

My name's Evan.

I'm a video editor and musician from Toronto, Canada, and while these have both been my passions for a long time, a few months back, I took a sabbatical from editing after a string of projects left me emotionally drained.
I had tried to go the commercial route, and had lost sight of the thing that made me want to be an editor in the first place.
It just wasn't fun anymore. I gave up on freelance work, got the standard struggling artist barista job, and left my Adobe suite alone to gather dust.

Today I hit the point where I've had enough. I can't just stand around and let life pass me by without creating and adding to it. I'm ready to start making videos again. But this time I'm going to make the stuff I'm passionate about. Something I think there might be a demand for, at least, it's something I wish was already out there.

I'm an avid video gamer, but there's only so much time in the day. I love games that deliver on story and scope and sometimes I wish there was a way to experience them as a film. All over Youtube there are "Video Game Movies"; where someone has taken all of the cutscenes of a game and just stitched them together. But that won't cut it. You're missing what makes the game special; all the big moments, reveals, and the spectacular boss fights.

Fighting the Spider Tank.jpg

Otherwise, there are the walkthroughs, where someone plays the entire game in front of you. But a game's pacing is dependant on you playing the game, not watching it. So, along with the help of some friends, I'm taking it upon myself to make something new. I'm employing more traditional film-making and machinima techniques, to create a sort of hybrid film/game experience. The first of which will be focusing on Bungie's Destiny series.

Destiny Rocket.jpg

I'm using a camera hack to "film" my friend's character using cinematic angles, and combining that with a more narrative approach to editing. The final "film" will have a tight pace, while showing off all of the hard work that went into the design of the game, and its story elements that are often overlooked.

Destiny Cave.jpg

This isn't the first time I've worked on something like this. Late last year, I was tasked with making a video explaining story connections between Ubisoft's Watchdogs and Assassin's Creed games. Instead of making the typical explainer video you'd find littering Youtube, I took the narrative approach, opting to show instead of tell. Part of the connection was made through a text-only item, so I went as far as directing a friend in voice-acting to really sell the video. You can watch the short vignette below.

I loved working on this video. And I'm excited to dive back into this sort of work.
Destiny is just the start. I already have plans for more games, like The Evil Within and Mass Effect.

What do you think? Is this something you'd like to see made? Are there any games you'd want to see given this sort of cinematic video treatment? And where do you think I should host these videos? (With the state Youtube's in, I might be opting for Twitch. But that's a story for another post)

Follow me @churchy for progress on Story Mode and other projects I'll have coming up!

Sort:  

Welcome man :) You will definitely need to check out @dlive, it is perfect for a gamer like you!
Helping you out with a little upvote + resteem!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks for the help! I'll make sure to check out @dlive


Welcome to Steemit @churchy!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hi, I'm @edosweet. I stopped by to give you a warm welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us.

First , I admire your beautiful photos. Nice intro and Happy to meet you. I and all steemit community warmly welcome you at this stage. You joined a unique platform. Work hard .. our support is always with you. Best of luck dear

Thanks! I really wanted to show what I meant about the camera hack I'm using to give the videos that cinematic look

hola te doy la bienvenida a steemit espero llegues lejos te invito a concursar en mi nuevo concurso https://steemit.com/mimascotayyo/@ronaldpino/primer-concurso-de-mi-mascota-y-yo

Welcome to STEEM community enjoy your self here..

Congratulations @churchy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome here on this platform.
From Canada, then you are surely familiar​ with Peter Mckinnon right? :)

As a fellow gamer, I would like to welcome you to the Steem Community @churchy! Awesome looking game project you're working on!

I would like to feature your introduction post in my weekly curation blog if you don't mind!

You can also check out the @MinnowSupport Project, a community of Steemians on Discord Chat where you can interact, chat, network, and learn with other members of the Community! There is even a Steem based radio station there, @MSP-Waves!

Welcome to Steem, @churchy!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2854 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88