You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit, I'm Chrissy! Writer/Artist/Activist

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi there, thank you! That means a lot to me! I have gone through years of psychiatric treatment and other therapies and I can say that I am mostly recovered. And it is true, that it is definitely a result of the trauma. The name of my illness is ‘borderline personality disorder’ which is known to be a result of trauma. I definitely still have bad days but those are becoming less and less over time. Today is a fantastic day for me lol. I should mention though, that mental illness doesn’t look or sound like anything in particular, which can make it confusing for a lot of people. Take John Nash for instance (not that I am trying to compare myself to a nobel prize winning genius at all! LOL). He is a literal genius, but he went through to finish a phd and then some other amazing things while being acutely ill for years with schizophrenia, almost 20 years I think, and nobody knew. It can be very easy for people to miss.

Sort:  

You are right. Mental illness is pretty much like a common cold. Most people suffers from mental illness on and off but they did not realise it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65