Two Steemers walk into a bar...

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My name is Chris Horlacher, and I'm a Chartered Accountant, business consultant, and Revolutionary Entrepreneur.

As of the writing of this article I'm 34 years old and can barely keep track of the things I've been up to over the last decade. If you count yourself part of the liberty movement in North America, and more specifically Canada, you've probably come across something I've done.

I guess my journey into revolutionary entrepreneurship began in 2010 when I quit my job as an auditor for a Big 4 professional services firm to work at a startup stock brokerage you may have heard of; Euro Pacific Canada. I worked closely with the management team as their startup CFO in getting the company built and launched. Meeting Peter Schiff was an amazing experience. The company recently acquired Dundee Goodman Private Wealth and now manages over $4 billion in client assets under their new brand, Echelon Wealth Partners.

In 2011 I was approached by Redmond Weissenberger who had just launched the Canadian version of the Mises Institute. Shortly afterwards I found myself becoming their Vice-Chairman and Treasurer. If you're not familiar with Mises Canada, but interested in Austrian Economics, then I highly recommend checking them out. The website is a cornucopia of Canada-centric commentary through the lens of Austrian Economics.

It's hard to stress how important Austrian Economics has been to my life, and for that I'll forever cherish my involvement with Mises Canada and the work we're doing to help bring economic literacy and liberty to the Canadian public.

Currently, I run my own accounting and consulting practice. Notable past clients of mine include The Dollar Vigilante, where I have appeared in interviews... twice. I've also spoken at Anarchapulco 2016, as well as the TDV Investor Summit about a new project of mine called Equibit, and numerous other conferences and interviews. I've even done work for Eric Sprott's bullion dealership, launched an insurance underwriter, restructured one of Canada's largest energy companies, co-founded one of the emerging cannabis industry's most successful marketing and consulting agencies, and helped business owners internationalize their assets to become perpetual travelers.

Now I'm on Steemit participating in what I believe to be a major shift in online publishing and social media. My hat is tipped to the founders of this wonderful project, you're truly Revolutionary Entrepreneurs!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I look forward to reading more of your writing.

Welcome to steemit Chris! Glad to see all my Facebook friends coming here :)

did anyone request to prove it was you by posting to your twitter account that you are now on steemit or by photo with date and steemit on the paper?

don't have twitter, but i posted it to my facebook page

I didn't catch your talk at Anarchapulco this year, but I'll be sure to look out next year.

It's hard to stress how important Austrian Economics has been to my life

It's funny when I try to explain to people how fascinating Austrian economics is, and they say "Wow! That sounds really boring!" but the truth is, human action is always fascinating, and the principles of Austrian economics are very far-reaching, extending into many aspects of our lives.

Welcome to Steemit, Chris.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47