Introducing myself and my dogs + cute pictures

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey there!

Before I tell you all about me I want to tell you about about my previous experiences introducing myself that made me realize that I don't really know how to talk about myself.

In 2011 I started University and I quickly learned that the first week of the semester consists on introducing yourself to the class. That's it.

Back then I was taking 6 subjects so I had to introduce myself 6 times in a week. Usually the professor would say "Hi everyone, my name is ___________ and I want us to know each other so please stand up and say your name, age and what you like to do in your spare time".

This is what I said everytime: "Hi, my name is Carmen. I'm 17 years old and I like to sleep. Thank you."

I know, that wasn't interesting at all.

The years went by and the thing is that I studied Psychology and sometimes you get to practice therapeutic techniques with your classmates. So, one day I got to practice my 'introduce yourself' skills one more time.

The exercise was very simple. You had to choose someone from the class that you didn't know and talk about yourself . The twist was that you couldn't ask questions or interrupt the person talking. So it was really a monologue.

The point was to figure out how you feel talking about yourself.

So I chose a girl that was nothing like me. She was blonde and honestly, she looked like a model. Don't get me wrong, I consider myself good-looking but this girl looked like this:

giphy (1).gif

And I looked like this back then:

giphy.gif

Anyway, I started talking and basically I said "Hi, my name is Carmen, I'm 20 years old and I have two dogs... Yeah, a chihuahua and a miniature pinscher."

And I kept going... "Yeah, their names are Vicky and Blondie."

"Blondie is very tiny and likes to cuddle"

"Vicky is very fat and likes to take sun baths"

"Blondie is actually Vicky's daughter. So technically, Blondie is not a chihuahua, she's a mix between pinscher and chiahuahua but she looks just like her father."

Awkward silence... "And how about you? Tell me about yourself."

So this girl started talking, she was 21. She liked to workout, her favorite hobby was singing. She had a puppy but it died two years ago. And then, at some point she even told me about his father. He had recently passed away. I'm telling you, she really went for it.

She talked about her family, ex boyfriends, her childhood, dreams and hopes for the future, etc.

And I was just sitting there thinking that this girl opened up a lot and the fact that I spent more time talking about my dogs than about myself.

-giphy (4).gif

So yeah, that's me. I'm Carmen, I'm from Venezuela. Currently 23 and I still don't like talking about myself.

Why? Well at first I thought it was because I had nothing interesting to share but maybe it's because I don't want people to get to know me so they don't get a chance to hurt me.

giphy (3).gif

That's the real me, folks.

I'll keep telling you more about me and the awkward situations I've gotten myself into.
giphy (5).gif

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, then!

Should you still find our whole system kind of confusing, here is a very good guide that I usually recommend to newbies:
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@theferalone/field-guid-to-steemit-how-it-works-and-how-to-survive-your-first-30-days

Cya around!

It is confusing so I appreciate it, thanks!

Welcome! I also have a min pin! I will soon upload a post just for him <3

Haha thanks! I'm looking to forward read about him!

Loading...

Welcome on board!

Thank you, pal!

Congratulations @chidalgo, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63