You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The uncomfortable truth about being a Professional Truck Driver in the United States - An in depth analysis of the life of a trucker!

I was a truck driver for about five years, and much of what you wrote really hits home with me. Most big trucking companies treat their drivers like garbage, and truckers are underpaid for a dangerous job. I feel lucky to be alive after some of the near-misses I've had and I'm not kidding. Some of the things I experienced, like you, were almost unbelievable. If a driver can get a decent driver manager to work with, they're lucky, but they are very rare. The good one I had for awhile finally quit because she was tired of being told to lie to me and her other drivers. I quit when she quit. The industry is losing more drivers than they're hiring. No wonder, especially with more stringent government regulations than ever, making it harder for new drivers to enter the work force. Most people do not realize what truck drivers have to put up with. They mostly see them as blocking their way on the road. I got one-finger salutes just for driving down the road! I finally had enough of working for abusive companies and started driving for an Iowa farmer hauling grain and hog manure, which sounds awful but really wasn't that bad. He paid well, and he was a great guy. We're still friends. Maybe you can get a job like that. Good luck, sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40