Introducing MyselfsteemCreated with Sketch.


Hello Steemers, My name is Steve and I am here to share my knowledge of food and cooking with you. I recently began posting, reading, commenting and meeting some of you. I was never active in social media before I found Steemit. I like the decentralized nature of Steemit and that is why I joined.

I have been working as a chef for eighteen years. After graduating from the Culinary Institute of America in 1999, I spent a few years working in New York City at four star restaurants, Jean Georges and Le Cirque. These restaurant experiences were incredible and they helped me to master technique, learn team work, build speed and exposed me to incredible ingredients. I also spent some time working at the Relais & Châteaux restaurant Lumiere, in Vancouver, BC and I studied French bread baking as well.

After I felt confident in my cooking technique I went out on my own and became a private chef. This has been the best experience for me. I am very curious and love to learn new things and so being a private chef is a perfect fit. I am able to learn about new cuisines and travel a lot more.

Fernand Point is my favorite chef and here is a quote by him that I live my life by.
"In all professions without a doubt, but certainly in cooking one is a student all his life". Fernand Point

That quote brings me back to the the reason I am here. I am here to share my knowledge of food and cooking with you. But, I am also here to learn from you. There are Steemers here from all over the world and I look forward to learning from you as well.

Besides cooking I am also interested in foraging, hiking, brewing, skiing, traveling, scuba diving, photography and fly-fishing. I will post on these subjects as well.

Below is a great find of oyster mushrooms.

Hiking always reminds me of how incredible and beautiful nature is.

Brewing lets you realize the ideas you have about the perfect beer.

Skiing to me is freedom.

Traveling is so important in order to learn about the world and understand people and cultures better.

Scuba diving to me is incredible. The feeling of soaring through a space and being so close to nature. If I could live underwater I would!

I love to capture perfect moments with photography.

And fly-fishing is my meditation. I usually fish alone and I enjoy the solitude.

Thank you for stopping by today. I look forward to meeting you soon.
Best, Steve

Sort:  

Welcome to the steem community

Thank you! Its great to be here

Welcome to Steem Community @chefsteve! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Fantastic introduction - very interesting indeed - I look forward to hearing your take on fine food, life and more!

Followed upvoted and resteemed!
images.png

Thanks @icedrum I am glad to be here and It's awesome to make connections with people that have similar interests. I loved your seaweed video post. You have a lot of great content. I'm going to dive into some of it now!

Hey chefsteve, nice to meet you...just in case you don't know the comments you got are bots...it's sad but people do this here in steemit to get easy money...i tell you becouse you are being nice replying bots haha...and probably you are following them. Better if you don't do It so they stop spaming people in the introduceyourself tag...if you knew sorry for this.
Nice post, welcome to steemit and good luck, i Will keep antes eye on your posts. I post about cooking as well.
Steeeeem!!

Thanks! @jorgegp How do I tell if comments are bots or real people?

@chefsteve Brother welcome! You seem like a quality brother! Skiing is total freedom, I've been a skier my whole life. I too wasn't into social media prior to learning about this decentralized blockchain platform. Thank you for joining us and we will support you :) Namaste

@captainpearson Thanks for your support! When I first learned about the blockchain it blew my mind. I thought, the blockchain has the ability to disrupt everything! Where are some of your favorite places to ski?

Yes I agree, and the decentralization can afford many with equal opportunities...as long as we use it and promote it for good :) I've done lots of east coast skiing in Ontario/Quebec/and Vermont mountains are the best for east coast. Obvi West Coast skiing is the best (Western Canada :D ), I have been to Ferney and Kicking Horse..looking to expand that West Coast list and also hit up Colorado, Utah etc

Sweet! I like Vermont too for east coast. I've never made it to eastern Canada for skiing. But, was lucky to make it to Whistler. Also, been to Sun Valley, Aspen and Crested Butte. Would love to go to Utah. They say that Utah has the best snow.

Welcome to Steemit @chefsteve, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thank you! I will head over to check out your content.

hello @Chefsteve ;) Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit !! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure ! Here you can win money while bloging ! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom !

Thank you for the words of wisdom!

You are a wonderful man, @ChefSteve. I will upvote and follow you for sure!

Thank you! what a complement!

@chefsteve, excellent introduceyourself post. Hopefully it gains some good attention. Look forward to seeing your posts in the future.

Thank you for the kind words!

Congratulations @chefsteve! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49