Facts about me...my introductory post.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

BeautyPlus_20171214095152_fast.jpg

Hi everyone. My name is Chika Blessing, a Nigerian and aIso a graduate of Botany from the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University. I heard of steemit through @chemmy. I am excited to join the steemit community at last and what better day to write my introductory post than Valentine's day!

Chika is simply a fun loving person. My hobbies vary. First, i love hand craft. I love crocheting, bag making,twine weaving among others.I am a fashion designer and i love teaching.

I watch movies a lot but horror movies, action movies and cartoons have a special place in my heart.There is no better thrill making that loud scream when watching a good horror movie. Don't you agree?

Novels are exciting. I have always had my head buried in a book from childhood frustrating my mother sometimes. I still do that to some of my friends...lol.

My favourite Nigerian author is currently Chimamanda Adichie. I think she is a special woman...i admire her views on feminism. I would say i am a semi feminist...if such would exists.

My current favourite foreign author is P.C Cast and Kristin Cast. The 'House of night' series is a dream. I believe it would be a good storyline for a new tv series.

hon.jpg
Source:idsoratherbereading.com

Music soothes my mind. Any genre of music is okay with me but favourites are Yanni,Kenny G and Enya in that order.

I enjoy meeting interesting people. It is sad though that some people are stereotypic in their way of thinking. I once met a girl who after knowing the name of my village proclaimed i am a bad person as it is believed people who hail from there are bad.I was shocked. She was judging me based on general assumption. She wasn't even patient enough to stick around to know me for who i am. Well...good riddiance i think. She needs reorientation.

I believe its impossible to exist alone without interaction. We meet various people on daily basis. Judge them and relate based on what you know of them not what others say about them or what you assume. Adichie gave a talk on 'The dangers of a single story' which i enjoyed listening to. Have your own opininon about people. It is important.

I am excited to be a part of this community. I joined a few days ago and have since been browsing through post after post. As a person that loves good stories, learning new things and general reading, steemit is the place to be and i am loving it here. I hope to make a lot of friends here sharing ideas as it comes. Thank you for reading my introductory post. I hope you enjoyed knowing me.

PS: Happy Valentine's day....enjoy it!
images_2.jpeg

Sort:  

Hello, @cheekah, and welcome to Steemit.

It's clear that you have a wide range of interests, which will serve you well on this platform, which itself covers a wide range of topics.

(As a former ESL teacher, I'd like to know what you are teaching. RSVP.)

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks for the advice. I teach science...chemistry and biology.

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.
coffee.jpg

Hello and welcome!!

Welcome!
I am not a huge horror fan so the screaming... not so much.
I have been here since September, and I really love steemit!
Check out my blog if you want to know more about my interests.
Ibenjoy social justice, especially NATIVE American rights.
I hope you enjoy your time here.
One site that has helped me out quite a bit on steemit is steemnow.com I hope it helps you.
Also check out some YouTubes about steemit.

welcome, success @cheekah

Welcome to Steemit. Your name looks like the famous @cheetah lol

True...lol

Hello cheekah, welcome to Steemit! :-)

Welcome here and keep steeming

Welcome to steemit @cheekah

Welcome, It´s great have beatifull people like you in this interesting page

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71