The Start of my Steem Journey

Would you like to read my story of how I have ended up on Steemit along with yourself, I would also love to know more about how other people found this platform (leave your story in my comments)

Let me Introduce myself  - Charles Degraft-Johnson

Blogger, Blockchain Enthusiast, Music Maker, Entrepreneur, Filmmaker, Ideas Person, Programmer


So before I give you the low down about myself, first let me say who introduced me to steemit.

How I came to Steemit

Being a techy and bit of a blockchain Enthusiast, I came across @jerrybanfield talking about this platform on youtube, I thought to myself, wow this is a great way to use the blockchain and cryptocurrency, and also meet forward-thinking people like yourself. So I decided to sign up, bought some steempower and now I am writing my first post. I have decided to put my efforts into the Steemit platform, as I can see it possibly becoming one of the largest social media platforms in future, and I'm willing to put in the time and effort to help it become so, by posting content and interacting with a great community.

I have profiles on other social media platforms,

https://www.facebook.com/onedaycourses/

https://www.linkedin.com/in/cdegraftjohnson

https://www.facebook.com/reflexology.network

https://www.facebook.com/cdegraftjohnson

So now let me tell you a bit more about who I really am.

My name is Charles Degraft-Johnson - I have been called the A.D.D. creative entrepreneur, as I have many varied have business and interests.I was born 45 years ago in Nottingham UK, to parents who were immigrants to the UK from Ghana West Africa. My Mother was a Physical Therapist and my father a Community Nurse. I had a good childhood growing up with my 2 brothers and 1 sister. I went to Catholic Junior and secondary school. But I always had issues just trying to fit in. Basically, I have always been bigger (both height and width) than my peers,

I have had weight problems all my life. I know its combination of both genetic and personality traits, I am an all or nothing type of guy, but I am a work in progress. The most I ever lost is over 150 pounds (see picture). I currently somewhere between either extreme and hope to stay that way and lose a bit more weight. I am sure to document my journey here on Steemit. I also tended to be the only ethnic person in my peer group. Growing up in the 70s and 80s, when racial tensions were high in the UK was challenging at times, but I took the view of the people who spouted racially abusive comments at me would not affect my self-esteem and I tried not to take the abuse personally. Luckily I came from a very supportive family who always said I could be anything I want to become. Many of my family members being politicians, lawyers, journalists, business owners etc, I could see they achieved their dreams, so I could also.

As a child I was a tech geek, I loved computers. For those, of you born in the UK, shops used to have computers on display which you could try out. At 10 years, old would stand for hours writing programs. Even the shop owns got to know me and would give me free drinks, and ask what I was doing. I would say I'm programming a game, but from what I remember it would go over his head. I am grateful to him not kicking me out lol.

After pestering my parents at the age of 12 years old, they spent a considerable amount of their earnings and bought my first ZX Spectrum computer. I would stay up all night programming even on school nights (with breaks to watch prisoner cellblock H lol) as I had such a love for programming. I also had a love of music, I would spend hours going through my parents' rather large music collection. My mother has pictures of me at 3 years sitting on a potty bopping to 'The Three Degrees. (who I eventually ended up working with when I was older lol) I learned how to play the piano and became a songwriter. I was also fascinated by how computers could be utilized to make music. And started experimenting with midi and computer sequencing. I also had a love for photography and filmmaking (which I got from my dad). I still love to make videos to this day 

What I do as a Career

I achieved good qualifications in school and when I was 17 had to make a decision to either pursue a career in music and do a music degree or go to do a computer degree. I chose the latter and went to the University of Manchester and studied computing information system degree.I had an amazing time at university, well a bit too much of an amazing time. Having spent my early years in computer geekdom, the entire university social seen engulfed me and I fully participated & I did not put as much effort into my studies as I could have.I left university passing my degree and lucky I got a job working for HMRC Capital Taxes Office, my first programming job in 1994, I worked there for 18 months and then moved to work in the IT department for a chicken factory. After a while I thought to myself I like to work for myself, as I never was good being in a 9 to 5 job. So I started my own freelance consultancy. It did great as I was in business at the right time just before the tech bubble burst. I provided consultancy on Internet, early e-commerce systems and system integration tech for large multinationals and governments around the world. My clients included

  • Perot Systems (Dell) 
  • Credit Suisse 
  • ICL Financial Services 
  • Argos Ltd 
  • Capital One Bank  
  • PowerGen 
  • KPN Mobile Netherlands 
  • CPA Global Jersey 
  • Royal Bank of Scotland  
  • Nationwide Building Society 
  • Royal Bank of Scotland 
  • NatWest Bank 

It was great being in my 20s earning a 6 figure salary traveling the world. However, when the tech bubble bursts, my company went with it, and I lost it all. At the same time, I met my partner & thought to myself ok I will go back to the 9 to 5 life. I did for a few years, but it really frustrated me I felt trapped and unfulfilled and thought I had more to offer the world. The stress of this ended up with me splitting with my partner and me falling ill is an anxiety disorder, which caused me to be hospitalized and I had to take a year out. After I got better I decided I wanted to do something for myself and give back and help people, so I trained to be a life coach & Reflexologist and concentrated on music, which included me managing & mentoring music acts. 

Some of my music

https://dsound.audio/#/@charleeboy/bass-in-your-face

https://dsound.audio/#/@charleeboy/juicy-charleeboy-vs-claudia-patrice

https://dsound.audio/#/@charleeboy/just-the-way-i-like-it  

A video I have produced

https://d.tube/v/charleeboy/fuiv4wam  

But as the years went by, I still had a love for technology and programming, so I decided to incorporate all the things I love, tech, music, video, reflexology etc & I created Online Reflexology courses, set up a reflexology business and adult education Business

My Online Hand Reflexology Course

My Training Business - One Day Courses London 

Currently, Blockchain technology has really got my interest, as I have had many ideas in how it can be used to gameify industries and even government departments to make them more efficient, and allow people to feel like they are more invested in the system. Some of these ideas I have I had since the 90s, but then there was no suitable way to be implemented until now with the blockchain.

So I intended to put some of my ideas to paper on Steemit and network with people, to maybe making some of these ideas come to reality, that could end up helping people lives become a little easier. I am also going to write about things I love like music, filmmaking travel etc. 

 I hope I can provide some value and make some Steemit friends. 

Please say hi in the comments so we can connect

Thanks for taking the time to read

Charlie

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @charleeboy, hope you are more happy to share your experience here and there can also share what you want, I wish you will be more successful in sharing your work. Don't forget your follow and resteem @mucha

Thanks for the welcome message, I will follow and resteem.

welcome to steemit @charleeboy, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Thanks for the kind welcome, looking forward to blogging here on Steemit !

Hi @chalrleeboy
"Welcome to steemit"Greetings know,
hopefully by joining you can add insight and knowledge for us all through your useful post 😊
, with expertise you have can add insight for readers who use steemit account wherever they are.And do not forget, If you are a person who likes to read short stories and article, you can browse and read and follow on my account at @endatu. There I write it.Thank you, compact greeting always, regards steemers 😊 U5du1LgwqKognuqMRuiKn7cD9rpRbmX.gif

Thanks for the welcome message

U are welcome

Congratulations @charleeboy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88