Introducing Me - Junior Doctor - Squash Player - First Attempt at Blogging-er

Hi all,

My name is Chris and i'm a 25 year old junior doctor based in the UK. I've never written a blog or anything like this before but thought I'd give it a try.

My main intent is to give an insight into what its like as a junior doctor working on the front lines in the NHS, there's a bit of a crisis going on in it right now for those not familiar. I will also try to share some funny anecdotes about some of my more interesting cases and maybe weigh in on some interesting science/ medical topics from a medical perspective.

And before I go any further I should say that I won't be providing anyone with medical advice, go see your own doctor! Nor will I be putting up any pictures of myself, just yet anyway, to help keep myself and my stories confidential. But just so my ramblings don't become too boring here's a picture of a chicken I used to own:

2013-06-17 12.18.45.jpg

About Me

I first became interested in science in primary school where I couldn't wait until biology class, I get more interesting I promise! maybe.
It wasn't until high school that I started to narrow down my interest into humans - very self-centred - and began to think a career in medicine would be for me.
Very long story short I applied, got in, completed my medical degree, and here I am. I'm sure i'll elaborate on the many many weird and wonderful things I saw whilst learning about medicine but that's a whole different post.

Other than that I love playing, and following, squash, I play the piano, have kept chickens, pigs, and most recently bees, and fancy myself fairly knowledgeable about the latest films and games - particularly sci-fi and action adventure. On that topic I also read a lot of sci-fi/ fantasy - my latest favourite author being Brandon Sanderson.

I am very much new to the world of blogging, crypto-currency, and anything beyond a standard online user so more than appreciate any tips/ comments anyone has to help me along in this world. Likewise If you have any medical questions or interesting topics you would like to here about from a doctors perspective then let me know! (see earlier that I won't be giving out personalised medical advice).

Funny Story

I thought I'd finish my intro off with an amusing story I came across during one of my placements in general practice:

I saw a lovely elderly lady who had reached the end of her tether and needed some help, something that in most situations we would all appreciate as one gets older - this case not quite so much.

This lady had never gotten along with her neighbours whom she felt were a bit too noisy and their house a bit too close for comfort, neither of which I could do much about. This all came to a head when our delightful patient wanted to bring a bit of light into one of her rooms by installing a window. The neighbours in question were - not understandably - mortified by this prospect and had forbidden any building access to the outside of the wall via their property.

Not to be deterred the window was built from the inside out without anyone stepping outside the house! a very impressive and amusing image. With the window built our lady was satisfied and now had a much brighter room and, predictably, a day later the neighbours erected a tree in-front of the window blocking all light - face palm.

This bring us to the now with me doing my best to politely explain that I couldn't do much about this very non medical issue. A short chat later we left it with her agreeing to try and speak to her neighbours and air all the tension - I later found out this had not happened.
Instead our lady had apparently snuck out in the dead of night, with her nightgown wrapped tight, a hot water bottle in one hand, and a bread knife in the other (or so I imagine it), and performed a dark dead. . .
The next morning her neighbours awoke to their new tree felled, lying limply across the front of their lawn with a very smug looking lady overlooking the scene from her window sipping Tea.

Thanks for reading and I look forward to writing more and taking part!

Sort:  

Nice to meet you @ccwaight🙃
Welcome to Steemit!
Try to get a profile picture!
Take one from Instagram using my post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@heiner/how-to-use-a-steemit-profile-picture-from-instagram

Congratulations @ccwaight! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! With new Steemian’s, I always have 3 pieces of advice for success. Be kind, be consistent, and be persistent. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. Kindest regards.

Thank you! I'll have a good explore round those sites :)

Congratulations @ccwaight! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts! +UP

Congratulations @ccwaight! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ccwaight! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47