Hi I'm Justin full time nerd, parent, and IT worker

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone I'm Justin and I'm an IT worker, parent, and pretty much jack of all trades. I got my first taste of the IT field almost 18 years ago, when I was 10, when I started working QA on a small software program for asthma management. From that moment forward I knew I was hooked.   

A lot of people look at me strange when I say I started in the IT field when I was 10. I have had asthma since I was 2 years old and my doctor thought I would be perfect for doing QA on this small asthma management program, basically they wanted to see if the program was something that even kids would be able to use in additon to the targeted audience of adults. Little did I know this opportunity was going to lead me down a rabbit hole I never expected. From doing QA on that project I quickly turned into one of the spokes people for it. Most of the work involved various medical conferences down in Washington DC and meeting with various Senators and Congressmen and culminating in testimony to congress about HIPAA. At 10 I got my first taste of the IT field and my first taste of being on camera, all which would eventually play a critical role in shaping my life.

Like everyone my life went through a series of ups and downs. It’s nothing I want to dwell on or focus on but some of it did help focus me down my path. When I got into high school they found out that I was allergic to the school, apparently it had a massive mold issue, and it was cheaper and easier for the district to simply pull me out of the school and pay to have me home schooled then fix the issue. Literally overnight I went from going to school every day to not being allowed to step foot on the property. People thought I had either died or was locked up. So I fell back on what I knew and surrounded myself with technology. I poured myself into it learning everything and anything I could.

Eventually timing proved to be my biggest asset. We had a family business doing medical transcription and were facing either switch to digital and continue to grow or stay analog and slowly die. The issue was we had clients that really wanted to hold onto analog. I put my time into creating processes that allowed us to still service those customer while converting everything digital. Air gapped computers to conform to HIPAA regulations while converting analog tapes to digital media to send out to our employees, all while maintaining a strict 48 hour turn around time. All before I graduated high school.

Fast forward through a couple job changes and climbing the corporate totem pole I now run all the day to day operations of a small mom and pop computer repair company and am focusing on starting my YouTube channel helping people who are looking to get into the IT field. I met the girl of my dreams and became a father overnight as I stepped up to fill the role her baby daddy couldn't. Life still has its ups and downs but looking back, all the good all the bad, I wouldn't change a thing.

Sort:  


"Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth." Buddha

Welcome to Steemit! My Friend- Greeting From @dog

Welcome You to Wonderful Steemit World @xem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62