Introducing myself -- Carolannimal

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Just shy of 30, and I'm living in what was once a storage closet in my sister's apartment.
When she caught wind that I needed to hibernate for the winter season,
she began clearing it out for me and made way for a makeshift bed of plywood stacked upon milk crates, with my trusty sleeping bag and a goose-down duvet cover.
Not much else can fit, but then, I don't have much to begin with.
Just a big, nearly empty backpack, little mementos, herbs and smudge I had harvested, an array of hole-spotted clothes from across North America, and my four-legged pal Doodle, who unexpectedly came into my life on solstice last year at a resistance camp in North Dakota.

16681804_876989962441044_3929181541866813122_n.jpg

Is this the introduction of a failure-at-life? For some it definitely it is. I mean, storage closet? 29 years old? WHAT. Well, let me explain a wee bit about myself, and how I hope to add value to the Steemit community.

I've lived a semi-nomadic life since I had a critical awakening at the age of 22, which resulted in me leaving my well-paying job at a start-up tech company, purging nearly all of my belongings (much of which ended up in the back alley of my apartment for the local scavengers of Vancouver BC), and set out on the open road on a bicycle.
It took my sister and I three months to camp and bicycle our way across Canada to Montreal. A story unto itself but still just a blip on the radar, and my first real sip of what life could offer should I dare pursue my Truth.

38733_10150222654380531_3331624_n.jpg

Since then, I've put thousands upon thousands of miles on a bicycle, from Vancouver to San Diego, all throughout California, and this year a midwest journey from South Dakota to Oregon.
I know the value in slow travel, and the incredible encounters one can experience if they're patient enough to travel just for the journey alone.

I've slept in tents and out under the stars, in tipi's, cob/straw cabins, tree forts high above in the Redwoods, on beaches, under bridges, in underground homes, in ditches stealthily and secretly, and out in the open with campfire blazing. Forests, mountains, prairies, ocean side, and urban bushes, through wind and snow, sunshine and heat ... well, you know.

10371636_439463139527064_1995947122035175812_n.jpg

I've spent months, adding up to years, learning to farm and grow food all over western North America, living off-grid, and learning the way of the homesteader. I've worked on a few different permaculture projects, from earthworks, food-forest planting, and helping build houses from fallen trees, clay, and straw. I've learned the ins-and-outs of cannabis cultivation, harvesting wild and domestic foods for medicine and food, and know how to make awesome food in a dutch oven over wood stoves and open flames.

10568822_439463212860390_3103816452529983728_n.jpg

In the past year, I've been learning what it is to be an ally for the Indigenous Uprising, and have been gifted with teachings and tradition, while learning of the struggles the descendants of the original people of Turtle Island face. Spending the winter on the Standing Rock reservation proved to be a catalyst for another pivotal point in my life, and I am learning what role, if any, I have in supporting the uprising.

16722405_871883516285022_2797440140889182415_o.jpg

I tend to volunteer my energies in exchange for knowledge and experience, food and lodging, and so you might imagine I rarely hang on to dollar bills for long. The Steemit platform inspires and intrigues me, as it offers this opportunity to spread and share each others messages without the hindrance of so much structure and red-tape. For someone whose dream in life is to live simply and help others, this could very well help support that.

Having just hung up my travel-boots as of a few weeks ago, I'm currently working from home doing transcription work while I work out the kinks. So blessed to have this chance to hibernate and help bring clarity to the next stage of my life ~ my thirties.

I already have many ideas brewing when it comes to the writings of astrology, poetry and prose, health and nutrition, alternative living, and of course much in the way of bicycle traveling, nomadism, and ways to keep the faith in a time where it seems everything one does hinders the wellbeing of Unci Maka, mama earth.

Dreaming of the forward growth with this digital community.

-- Carol-Anne

15128961_821775551295819_4693064377741825320_o.jpg

Sort:  

That would be a superclass post for a first one, guess you got some help :-). Anyway, welcome in the nomad and/or homesteading family, great time to join, everybody is happy with steem price doubling up.

thank you bubke! I just read one of your posts about your bus travels to India, and I'm looking forward to peeping more. I saw a handful of families this year living on buses with children, and I'm just in awe of the patience and perseverance these parents have. I'll be following you, and look forward to reading your new, as well as your back-posts.

Welcome to Steemit, @carol-anne! By reading your introduction, my spirit was lifted and my heart was singing and feeling you have a much more fulfilling life than if you were to continue to pursue a corporate job! I look forward to reading more of your posts. Congratulation to you for becoming a memeber of "Stewards of Terra Mater"!

So good to meet you! Thank you for your sharing your thoughts and introducing yourself, although I had already found you on @wwf's posts hehe :) Looking forward to sharing more with you @cheneats!

Thank you! I look forward to that!

Amazing how society's expectations dictate that we are 'failures at life' as you say when we don't follow the script, right? I totally get it - I'm an itenerant zoologist, so work on a number of projects all over the world, never have much money and zero stability and people give you that look like: when are you going to grow up? Lol.

The thing is, if it makes you happy then bollocks to other people's expectations :) happy Steeming and welcome!

Sometimes I fall into that and also question when I'll grow up. When I'm out amongst the trees or by the ocean, all the doubts and uncertainties strip away, and I remember what matters to me. It's never been about making tons of money, things, and erm, stuff ... much to the dismay of my family :) super happy I found your blog, and that you found mine!

Welcome to steemit. Loved your intro, you got a full upvote and a follow from me. Really like your ethos, would like to connect more on the platform so please check out my own intro post and follow if you like what you see. Seeya around! Kate

Seeya around for sure, Kate! I loved your intro post, and what you're about.

Inspirational story of a unique lifestyle. Thanks for sharing!

And a big, big thank you for reading!

What a beautiful and inspiring story. I am sure you will find a warm and kind community here on steemit. I am looking forward to learning more about your adventures.

Hi welcome to STEEMIT, I hope your time here is pleasant and you find great success...I love the off the grid concept and am a huge aquaponics fan.. Hey give me a follow and I'll do the same.. always available, just comment back to any article I post and I will respond... @pawsdog...

thank you so much! I shall!

look forward to getting to know you...

Welcome to steemit Carol :) Definitely an interesting live you seem to have going on! Resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for showcasing promising newbies like you! Check out the others! Greets!

That is so awesome, thank you! I'll be peeping @welcoming this morning, and help spread the love to the other newbs out there. Bless!

You are an inspiration! Props for traveling so many miles by bicycle and for your time at Standing Rock.

I'll look forward to seeing your writing and poetry. Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you for the kind words Scott.. I just read your intro, oh and your freshest poem. Super wonderful to meet you, and I'm looking forward to your other posts.

Absolutely! May the conversation continue :)

That's one hell of a grand entrance into your Steemit life! What an interesting and unique journey you've had so far. Look forward to following your adventures :)

Haha, thank you :-p I've bookmarked your post on mosaic creations, as I've always wanted to get into that. Following you and your clever art. bless bless bless!

Why thank you dear. Happy to inspire more creative desires in anyone (even though I really had no idea what I was doing!). Cheers and see you soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52