THE WAY IT IS! After 6 years of living in the shadow of her stroke, Coleen Jones Speaks out in her first blog about second chances.

Years ​ago,​ ​I​ ​chaired​ ​a​ ​Canadian​ ​Human​ ​Resource​ ​and​ ​Development​ ​Committee​ ​whose mandate​ ​was​ ​to​ ​try​ ​and​ ​figure​ ​out​ ​how​ ​to​ ​make​ ​lifestyles​ ​easier​ ​for​ ​those​ ​with​ ​disabilities.​ ​I always​ ​felt​ ​a​ ​sense​ ​of​ ​responsibility​ ​for​ ​the​ ​fact​ ​that​ ​we​ ​never​ ​seemed​ ​to​ ​make​ ​much progress.​ ​In my previous life I ​had ​a ​significant​ amount of ​experience​ ​working​ ​with​ ​people​ ​who​ ​had​ ​disabilities but​ ​now​ ​that​ ​I​ ​am​ ​myself​ ​challenged​ ​I​ ​am​ ​quickly​ ​learning​ ​new​ ​things​ ​every​ ​day.​ ​

The purpose​ ​of​ ​this​ ​narrative​ ​is​ ​that​ ​I​ ​hope​ ​my life experiences can​ ​help​ ​someone​ ​in​ ​a​ ​similar​ ​situation,​ ​or,​ ​who​ ​sadly might​ ​find​ ​themselves​ ​in​ ​the same ​position​ ​in​ ​the​ ​future.​ ​​ ​In​ ​order​ ​to​ ​do​ ​this​ ​I​ ​would​ ​like​ ​to share​ ​a​ ​little​ ​bit​ ​about​ ​myself​ ​and​ ​how​ ​I​ ​became​ ​disabled.

I​ ​am​ ​outgoing,​ ​curious,​ ​a​ ​“people​ ​person”,​ ​and​ ​currently​ ​live​ ​at​ ​the​ ​RK​ ​MacDonald ​ ​Nursing Home.​ ​​ ​I​ ​am​ ​happily​ ​married​ ​and​ ​my​ ​husband​ ​and​ ​I​ ​raised​ ​two​ ​wonderful​ ​children.​ ​My current​ ​hobbies​ ​are​ ​reading,​ ​​medical​ ​researching on the computer,​ ​playing​ ​Scrabble​ ​online,​ ​and watching​ ​medical​ ​and​ ​veterinary​ ​shows​ ​on​ ​television.​ ​Before​ ​my​ ​stroke​ ​my​ ​favourite hobby​ ​was spending time with my​ ​flowers in the​ ​garden. I loved gardening​ ​and​ ​people​ ​walking​ ​down our street​ ​would​ ​often​ ​stop​ ​and​ ​ask​ ​for a​ ​garden​ ​tour.

I​ ​​ ​worked​ ​at​ ​St.​ ​Francis​ ​Xavier​ ​University​ ​in​ ​the​ ​Continuing​ ​and​ ​Distance​ ​Education​ ​Program. I​ ​love

d​ ​my​ ​job,​ ​and​ ​among​ ​other​ ​duties,​ ​I​ ​​ ​managed​ ​a​ ​Master​ ​in​ ​Education​ ​Program​ ​for teachers.​ ​I​ ​had​ ​hoped​ ​to work​ ​until​ ​I was​ at least ​70 years old,​ ​simply​ ​because​ ​I​ ​enjoyed​ ​what​ ​I ​did and​ ​loved​ ​my​ ​colleagues as well as ​supporting​ ​all​ ​our students,​ ​especially​ ​those​ ​from​ ​international​ ​countries!. ​I​ ​learned​ ​so​ ​much​ ​from​ ​them!​ ​​ ​

My husband​ ​and​ ​I​ ​also​ ​owned​ ​and​ ​operated​ ​a​ ​small​ ​business​ ​for​ ​10​ ​years.​ ​The​ ​only​ ​thing missing​ ​in​ ​our​ ​lives​ ​was​ ​that,​ ​like​ ​most​ ​people,​ ​we​ ​needed​ ​more​ ​than​ ​24​ ​hours​ ​in​ ​our​ ​day.

The​ ​“game​ ​of​ ​life“​ ​had​ ​a​ ​very​ ​different​ ​plan​ ​for​ ​me.​ ​​ ​Something​ ​that​ ​would​ ​irrevocably change​ ​our​ ​lives​ ​forever.​ ​Six​ ​years​​ ​ago,​ ​at​ ​age​ ​59,​ ​I​ ​suffered​ ​a​ ​very​ ​serious​ ​stroke,​ ​a 100​ ​percent​ ​brain​ ​bleed.​ ​​ ​The​ ​left​ ​side​ ​of​ ​my​ ​body​ ​was​ ​useless​ ​and​ ​I​ ​was​ ​left​ ​handed.​ ​I​ ​could no​ ​longer​ ​do​ ​​ ​anything​ ​for​ ​myself and instead​ ​of​ ​taking​ ​care​ ​of​ ​other​ ​people,​ ​which​ ​I​ ​did​ ​since​ ​I was​ ​about​ ​8​ ​years​ ​old,​ ​I​ ​would​ ​need​ ​to​ ​be dependent on ​somebody​ ​else​ to ​do​ ​everything​ ​for​ ​me. ​​ ​Everything!​ ​This​ ​did​ ​not​ ​sit​ ​well​ ​with​ ​me,​ ​​ ​as​ ​you​ ​would​ ​expect, and I had​ ​a​ ​very​ ​hard​ ​time​ ​adjusting.

The​ ​next​ ​six​ ​years​ ​I​ ​lived​ ​in​ ​what​ ​I​ ​can​ ​only​ ​describe,​ ​in​ ​my​ ​own​ ​words,​ ​as​ ​a​ ​kind​ ​of semiconscious​ ​state,​ ​exacerbated​ ​by​ ​severe​ ​depression,​ ​and​ ​PTSD.​ ​I​ ​had​ ​no​ ​interest​ ​in anything​ ​and​ ​was​ ​so​ ​exhausted,​ ​every​ ​day. It was so bad that​ ​I​ ​couldn’t​ even ​hold​ ​the​ ​phone​ ​for​ ​two minutes​ ​at​ ​a​ ​time and​ ​I​ ​spent​ ​99​ ​percent​ ​of​ ​my​ ​time​ ​in​ ​bed (only​ ​able​ ​to​ ​lay/sleep​ ​on​ ​my​ ​back,​ ​as I​ ​was​ ​physically​ ​unable​ ​to​ ​sleep​ ​on​ ​my​ ​side​ ​as​ ​I​ ​did​ ​all​ ​my​ ​life).​ ​

In​ ​the​ ​spring​ ​of​ ​2017,​ ​six years​ ​after​ ​my​ ​stroke,​ ​I​ ​was​ ​again​ ​in​ ​trouble and​ ​I​ ​was​ ​unable​ ​to​ ​keep​ ​any​ ​food​ ​down.​ ​This went​ ​on​ ​for​ ​months​ ​and​ ​I​ ​lost​ ​70​ ​pounds.​ ​One​ ​day​ ​my​ ​temperature​ ​rose​ ​to​ ​104​ ​degrees​ ​and I​ ​was​ ​on​ ​my​ ​way​ ​to​ ​St.​ ​Martha’s hospital,​ ​again.​ ​This​ ​was​ ​my​ ​third​ ​admission​ ​in​ ​3​ ​weeks​ ​and​ ​where​ ​I spent​ ​my​ ​65th​ ​birthday.​ ​No​ ​birthday​ ​cake,​ ​not​ ​even​ ​allowed​ ​water,​ ​but​ ​I​ ​was​ ​alive!​ (​Some people​ ​just​ ​cannot​ ​give​ ​up!)​

​I​ ​was​ ​informed​ ​that​ ​my​ ​illness​ ​was​ ​infected​ ​gallstones​ and I couldn’t understand how​ ​could​ ​this​ ​be​? ​I​ ​had​ ​no​ ​pain​ ​there,​ ​and​ ​I​ ​had​ ​had​ ​my​ ​gallbladder​ ​removed​ ​about 40​ ​years​ ​ago. ​I​ ​found​ ​this​ ​very​ ​interesting.​ ​I’m​ ​still​ ​hanging​ ​on​ ​to​ ​my​ ​gallstones,​ ​but​ ​will​ ​have them​ ​removed​​ ​in​ ​Halifax this month.

Another hospital admission was because ​I​ had suddenly developed​ ​Tonic​ ​Clonic seizures (formerly​ ​known​ ​as​ ​Grand​ ​Mal). ​This​ ​was​ ​also​ ​interesting​ ​to me​ ​because​ ​I’ve​ ​always​ ​had​ ​a​ ​great​ ​interest,​ ​but​ ​no​ ​formal​ ​education,​ ​in​ ​human​ ​and​ ​animal medicine.​ ​My​ ​theory​ ​about​ ​my​ ​seizures​ ​is​ ​that​ ​in​ ​humans​ ​as​ ​well​ ​as​ ​animals,​ ​when​ ​our bodies​ ​get​ ​in​ ​trouble,​ ​our​ ​brain​ ​will​ ​try​ ​to​ ​help.​ ​​​A​ ​simple​ ​example​ ​of​ ​this​ ​is​ ​when​ ​we​ ​get​ ​a bacterial​ ​infection,​ ​we​ ​develop​ ​a​ ​fever​ ​to​ ​help​ ​alert​ ​us​ ​to​ ​the​ ​fact​ ​we​ ​probably​ ​have​ ​an infection.​ ​In​ my case,​ ​a​ ​doctor​ ​told​ ​me​ ​that​ ​my​ ​seizures​ ​were​ ​due​ ​to​ ​brain​ ​damage​ ​from​ ​my stroke​ ​of​ ​6​ ​years​ ​ago.​ ​I​ ​have​ ​a​ ​different​ ​theory.​ ​I​ ​believe​ ​that​ ​my​ ​brain​ ​produced​ ​the​ ​harshest kind​ ​of​ ​seizures​ ​possible​ ​to​ ​snap​ ​my​ ​brain​ ​out​ ​of​ ​its​ ​thoroughly​ ​lethargic​ ​state.

The​ ​official​ ​definition​ ​of​ ​seizures​ ​according​ ​to​ ​the​ ​Mayo​ ​Clinic​ ​(online) is​ ​“the​ ​physical​ ​finding or​ ​changes​ ​in​ ​behaviour​ ​that​ ​occur​ ​after​ ​an​ ​episode​ ​of​ ​abnormal​ ​electrical​ ​activity​ ​in​ ​the brain”.​ ​Years​ ago,​ ​electrical​ ​shock​ ​therapy​ ​was​ ​widely​ ​used​ ​to​ ​treat​ ​severe​ ​depression.​ ​It​ ​is still​ ​used​ ​today,​ ​but​ ​much​ ​less​ ​frequently.​ ​It​ ​is​ ​my​ ​understanding​ ​that​ ​it​ ​would​ ​be​ ​unlikely​ ​to have​ ​serious​ ​seizures​ ​that​ ​would​ ​improve​ ​the​ ​quality​ ​of​ ​life.​ ​In fact, the​ ​opposite​ ​is​ ​more likely,​ ​​most​ ​often​ ​people​ ​who​ ​have prolonged​ ​severe​ ​seizures​ ​will develop deficits​.​ ​In​ ​my​ ​case, I​ ​developed​ ​both​ ​positive​ ​and​ ​negative​ ​outcomes​ ​from​ ​my​ ​seizures.​ ​

Obviously,​ ​I​ ​already​ ​had severe​ ​brain​ ​damage​ ​from​ ​my​ ​stroke.​ ​After​ ​my​ ​seizures​ ​I​ ​realized​ ​I​ ​had​ ​additional​ ​new​ ​brain damage​ ​affecting​ ​my​ ​mouth.​ It​ ​took​ ​me​ ​about​ ​a​ ​month​ ​to​ ​figure​ ​out​ ​what​ ​was​ ​going​ ​on.​ ​​My lips​ ​feel​ ​very​ ​swollen​ ​and​ ​my​ ​lip​ ​and​ ​mouth​ ​muscles​ ​aren’t​ ​working​ ​very​ ​well.​ ​When ​I get tired,​ ​my​ ​speech​ ​is​ ​not​ ​clear and ​when​ ​I’m​ ​exhausted​ ​I​ ​can’t​ ​speak​ ​at​ ​all.​ ​The​ ​seizures​ ​also affected​ ​my​ ​nose,​ ​throat,​ ​taste buds​ ​and​ ​smell​.

​On​ ​the​ ​positive​ ​side​ ​of​ ​my​ ​post-seizure​ ​life​ ​something very​ ​unusual​ ​took​ ​place,​ ​and​ ​I​ ​was​ ​literally​ ​handed​ ​a​ ​new​ ​chance​ ​at​ ​life!​ ​It​ ​took​ ​me​ ​about​ ​a month​ ​post-seizure​ ​(July 2017)​ ​to​ ​get​ ​my​ ​head​ ​on​ ​straight.​ ​Overnight​ ​I​ ​had​ ​become​ ​severely hyperactive,​ ​after​ ​six​ ​years​ ​of​ ​pronounced​ ​mental​ ​and​ ​physical​ ​inactivity.​ ​I​ ​was​ ​so hyperactive​ ​that​ ​I​ ​barely ​slept​ ​an​ ​hour,​ ​day​ ​or​ ​night​ ​for​ ​almost​ ​a​ ​month.​ ​A​ ​much​ ​higher​ ​dose of​ ​sleeping​ ​pills​ ​helps​ ​a​ ​lot,​ ​but​ ​I​ ​still​ ​have​ ​insomnia.

I​ ​was always​ ​a​ ​very​ ​serious​ ​bookworm,​ ​but​ ​I​ ​was​ ​unable​ ​to​ ​read​ ​since​ ​my​ ​stroke.​ ​In​ ​August​ ​I​ ​read​ ​three books​ ​in​ ​one​ ​week!​ ​Wonderful!​ ​That​ ​was​ ​just​ ​the​ ​beginning!​ ​

Although​ ​I​ ​am​ ​still​ ​physically disabled,​ ​the​ ​seizures​ ​cleared​ ​my​ ​brain,​ ​offering​ ​me​ ​many​ ​other​ ​opportunities​ ​to​ ​do​ ​new activities. During July and August I helped my daughter plan her August wedding at St. F. X. In September I was able to attend my father’s funeral and reception. I could not have done this before my seizures. I have very little memory of the RK before my seizures and I didn’t even know things like the fact that my daughter lived in Toronto for a year! It’s kinda like most post-stroke memories disappeared, but I remember everything before my stroke and my memory currently is about 99 percent!

I​ ​think​ ​it​ ​took​ ​at​ ​least​ ​the​ ​first​ ​three ​months​ ​of​ ​my​ ​six​ ​month​ ​stay​ ​at​ ​St​ ​Martha’s Hospital, after my stroke,​ ​to realize​ ​and​ ​accept​ ​that​ ​my​ ​life​ ​from​ ​now​ ​on​ ​would​ ​be​ ​very​ ​different,​ ​to​ ​say​ ​the​ ​least!​ ​I​ ​was always​ ​one​ ​of​ ​those​ ​people​ ​who​ ​was​ ​mechanically​ ​challenged.​ ​I​ ​couldn’t​ ​even​ ​operate​ ​a​ ​VCR or​ ​set​ ​an​ ​alarm​ ​​clock,​ ​so​ ​it​ ​was​ ​a​ ​very​ ​terrifying​ ​time​ ​for​ ​me​ ​when​ ​I​ ​was​ ​told​ ​I​ ​had​ ​to learn​ ​to​ ​use​ ​an​ ​electric​ ​wheelchair.​ ​Me,​ ​of​ ​all​ ​people! ​I​ ​will​ ​never​ ​forget​ ​the​ ​eyes​ ​of​ ​my husband,​ ​the​ ​first​ ​time​ ​I​ ​tried​ ​to​ ​use​ ​a​ ​wheelchair.​ ​His​ ​eyes​ ​said​ ​“God​ ​help​ ​us​ ​both” because I​ ​had just​ ​hit​ ​the​ ​wall!P

If you were to ask me what I dislike most about being in a wheelchair, I have a very clear and serious answer. If someone is in a wheelchair, it is most likely that they are not mentally challenged, but physically challenged!

Life continues to surprise me and I hope that my story will help others not give up, miracles do happen. Stay tuned for my next blog as I talk about my first experiences with wheelchair accessibility and some tips and tricks to make life easier for our community members living with disabilities.

Sincerely,

Coleen Jones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40