HELLO from CaliCal, Steemit! I'm a 20-something future lawyer/fitness lover and can't wait to meet you all! All the good vibes <3

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello hello!
I am a twenty-something living in beautiful Minnesota finding my way through this crazy beautiful life. I live every day with a focus on maintaining a positive outlook, tackling challenges head on knowing they provide valuable rewards, and going for my goals with 110% ambition and effort. All the good vibes here!

About Me!

I am at the beginning of my third and final year of law school, which is both THRILLING and terrifying at the same time. I have found reprieve from the rigors of law school through fitness, which has become a lifestyle that I love. I can't wait to share my "journey" with you soon and tell you how I got started with training, and eventually competing--all while going to grad school.

A bikini competitor law student? What?

Just to clarify, I do not mean a bikini contest at a biker bar on the bad side of town. Let me break it down. I'm referring to NPC (National Physique Committee) bodybuilding competitions, and the division in which I compete is bikini (there are 4 divisions for women: bikini, figure, physique, and bodybuilding). I will explain more in a later post, but basically it's all of the glitz and glam of a beauty pageant, with the addition of countless hours training, meal prepping, eating, and working to achieve a very specific "look" for competition day. It's extreme. Trust me, I've heard this time and time again, and I'm well aware. I'm also aware that it is not a common passion for others in law/grad school, and many people are surprised to learn I have such "different" interests. Who says we all should fit a certain mold? Being a dynamic person allows me to keep my mind open to others and their interests/perspectives, and thereby live a more thorough life.

The Rest of My Life

I am the blessed fur baby mama to this beautiful soul, Princess Ruby. I rescued her about a year and a half ago from Midwest Animal Rescue, which rescued her and over 100 other dogs from a hoarding situation in Tennessee. She is my bestie and owns a very large part of my heart.

Also, this guy plays a pretty vital role in my life. Between law school, work, training, prep, and having his own growing career, he continues to support me and put up with my current obsession(s) and never ceasing antics. 😈 He is a busy professional who has already endured the grad school life, so he totally gets me. He's also lifts. And sometimes makes me food. So he'll probably be stuck with me for a while.

I would love to collaborate with others interested in fitness, the legal community (as I learn the ropes!), higher education, optimism, philosophy, flexible dieting, overcoming body image issues and eating disorders, training, bodybuilding, competing, recipes, work/life balance, social media marketing, YouTube, photography, finding our passions in life and how we can live it every day! I hope my experiences can inspire some of you, whatever your personal story or journey may be. Let's do this!!

Find me on Instagram! @CaliCal11

Sort:  

Welcome! I am new to steemit as well and am glad to see that there are others around that are into fitness and bettering ourselves physically and mentally. I myself and into flexible dieting and crossfit. Once again, welcome!

Thank you!! It is nice to find a platform that isn't already saturated with fitness opinions and ideals...something fresh! :)

Have you ever pushed your body further than you dreamed possible?

Ciao! Ciao!

Awesome to have you on board!

Greetings!

In a country well governed poverty is something to be ashamed of. In a country badly governed wealth is something to be ashamed of.

Welcome to the community!

Interesting post. Well done :)

Thank you! Hope to see you around :)

Welcome to steemit! Hope to see you around @calical11. There is so much to explore!

Thanks Matthew! :D

Congratulations @calical11! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43