My Cryptocurrency Investment Portfolio: Part 1

Hi everyone,

My name is Steve and I am new to SteemIt :)

I have been studying Cryptocoins everyday for a few months now via forums, youtube videos, websites, etc. I find them fascinating and exciting and believe they have enormous potential. As with I think a lot of people, I considered buying a bunch of BTC a few years ago but the whole process was too complicated / too much hassle and in the end didn't bother...I think a lot of us regret that now eh haha :)

Anyway I want to contribute and become a part of the Cryptocurrencies community and have been investing in Cryptos for a few months now, so I thought it would be a good idea to get involved with SteemIt by creating a blog of my portofolio and updating it everyday with my research, thoughts, trades and status.

Any feedback appreciated! I also have a small group of friends who invest and we chat about coins every day, so will relay the summaries of our findings and trades in this blog. We all come from a Poker background, if you want to look me up in Poker check out 24Caliber on google - I also own with 2 friends a poker stable pokerwinners.com (I couldn't make the Alias 24Caliber on SteemIt as the username has to start with a letter).

My goal is to post a new part everyday (don't break the "block" chain, as Seinfeld would say :D), I am fortunate enough to have a lot of spare time so this shouldn't be a problem...I also pledge to read and respond to every genuine comment before writing my next post (disclaimer: unless the numbers become epic)

If I think you are trolling me or the comment is inappropriate then I challenge you to make it degen enough to make me cringe or laugh, I am a proper degen myself so it needs to very inappropriate to make me chuckle (like Jimmy Carr level)...for those who do: I will reward the Steem + points thumbs up thing (not sure how it works yet) and potentially other prizes if the blog gets big.

Onto the interesting stuff.
I keep my Portfolio in a spreadsheet, here is a spreadsheet on my current holdings:

1.jpg

I thought I would also try out Genesis Mining for $900, this is where you hire processing power to mine coins for you...at the moment I would recommend not doing this (I think you are better off just buying your own coins) - however I will try it out and give feedback about how it progresses. Add my affiliate code is LJheIF for a 3% discount if you do decide to use it.

I also deposited another $7K last week (waiting on it to come through) - arghhh the deposit process is so slow it drives me mad, I hope this improves in the near future as I feel I have already missed out on a lot of great opportunities.

I am intending to buy HumanIQ, FirstBlood, Wagerr (ICO) and BTC when the deposit comes in, that is why they are currently blank in the spreadsheet.

HumanIQ seems to have a great team, an original idea and lots of potential customers, that is why I want to buy some of their coins.

First blood coins are intended to use for online gaming, where you bet against other players or on e-sport events and the winner takes the coins, I am quite into online gaming (Anyone play DOTA2??:)) so wanted to support the community and also feel there is a massive potential market...the prize pool for Dota2's biggest event is something close to being bigger than the Golf Masters, NFL and Wimbledon combined. Epic.

Wagerr is an ICO for a currency to be used for online gambling, again something I am interested in and would love to see on blockchain rather than the current mainstream systems - so I want to contribute to the development of this by buying some of their ICO coins. Check out Wagerr.com if you are interested, it is a 20 round ICO and they are at round 18. I wasn't able to find much research past the whitepaper so I am only going to do a smallish amount relative to my portfolio as I feel it is quite speculative.

Finally I am intending on holding a few K (like 10% of portfolio?) in BTC. It is a new idea I had so that I can if I want to buy some new coins then the process only takes one transaction and I don't need to consider which other coin to sell...it is stressful waiting for coins to be exchanged, then transferred, then bought, too much bimbling for my liking!

Also means if I want to less my exposure in coins for a bit, then I can quickly ship out some BTC to $$$ and buy back when the market dramas are over.

To show I am geniune here is a pic of my Exodus Wallet that holds my Eth, everyone loves Eth right?!?! :) The value has gone up since I last updated my spreadsheet so that's good.

2.jpg

I'm intending to create a much bigger portfolio in the future, just didn't want to go balls deep until I am comfortable I have paid my "learners tax" (this blog I consider a part of my learning process, even if no-one reads it lol:))

First lesson to myself was to get organised and documented! The intention of this blog is to help me do this, I have degenerate gambling habits and am quite obsessive by nature so hopefully will make for an interesting blog :X

So let it begin, looking forward to a few years of emotional volatility.

GL Us!

Sort:  

Welcome Steve. :) I was so fortunate to start investing in crypto in the early 2016 and thanks for your opinion about the new coins that you plan to invest in. I am just holding some major coins with high market cap like BTC, ETH, SC, XRP, LTC, DASH, ZEC, and maybe I should use some money earned from Steemit to invest in the potential coins you have mentioned.

Hi HtLiao, thanks for the welcome :D
Ohhh early 2016?? well you must have done well ! Holding the major coins sounds like a great strategy to me and why change what works.
The bulk of my portfolio is Eth, and I'll always have at least 50% minimum (more like 70%) of my portfolio in either Eth or BTC...they are just going to be solid growers in my opinion.
There are so many other coins out there though, worth having an investigate - but consider them speculative / high risk relative to your bread n butter solid higher market cap premiums. Some of the alt coin investments for me are more to support the ideas, teams and products I like, although I do expect pretty much the whole market to go up over time as the crypto market cap grows.

Woohoo my first Tip, ship the $$$.

Well I have to upvote that thanks !

Welcome Steve... As you can see, i am going by alias Newbie coz i am of your breed and new to crypto currency but nonetheless i am a big proponent of potential that they hold...
Hope, we all here can learn and earn from each others... :)

Yep I think it will be a learning experience for all of us! Just checking out some of your posts now, Thanks for the welcome :)

Congratulations @caliber24! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

ok will do, thanks

Nice portfolio! I too share interest an in Siacoin and Ethereum, both seem to have a promising future.

Thanks
Ohhh yea, especially Eth - get those tokens! I sometimes dream about chasing Eth of a cliff

Hello there @caliber24 and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

OK I am following your lotteries, do like a gamble me...

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprised you on August 1 ;)

A good suprise I hope...1st August is my birthday :D

I think everybody like it ;)

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Thanks, hi :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40