How 13 People Lived On A 45' Bus...And the TV Show That Proved It.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I grew up living on a bus.

Not part-time, not on the weekends, not for vacation...my family and I have lived on motor-coaches since I was 5 years old.

TLC even aired a pilot for a TV series about our unique life. But, I'm getting ahead of myself again.

When we first started in 1996 (actually this week marks our 20th anniversary of road life), we had no idea what we were doing.

My Dad was a pastor in Michigan. We had just moved in to a nice house and while we didn't have much money, our family was making more money than we ever had.

But, for some reason, my Dad couldn't shake the feeling that he should be doing something else.

Backstory Time!

My Dad grew up in the sticks of Louisiana; the quintessential country bumpkin. His Dad was in a Gospel male quartet. They traveled and sang on the weekends going as far as they could go and still be at work on Monday.

Traveling and singing was all my Dad ever wanted to do and he did it with his Dad's group for a while, but for some reason, life took a different turn for him.

He met my Mom a college in Mississippi in the music department...neither of them graduated, but music became a staple of our family.

The Big Move

Then six weeks after I was born. My Dad, the Louisiana boy, and my Mom, the Tampa Bay city girl, moved to Michigan in view of a call as associate pastor.

Right away, the northerners told my Dad he had to "learn how to talk". His slang and twang from his Louisiana upbringing was quite unbelievable (as evidenced by secret underground cassette tapes locked away in a Tupperware storage vault). So, he learned how to talk. The transformation is remarkable!

Five years later, I had three siblings. That's a story in itself because my parents were told they could never have any children. (Remind me and I'll tell you that one later)

Enough Backstory...Now Back To the Backstory

So, now we're caught up to 1996. My Dad's dream of traveling and singing was about to come true in a way he had never imagined.

He and my Mom both agreed God had a different direction for our family. So, we left our young church and our comfortable lives. They sold everything and made a down payment on a motorhome and we hit the road.

We had two dates on our schedule and nothing else. Everyone thought we were crazy! How would we survive?

What's worse, my Mom and two of my siblings had chicken pox the week we left. It was miserable!

But, we went. We did our first date for a love offering (a trend that would continue to this day) and received less than $100. Now, we had one date left and no way to pay our motorhome payment or any of our expenses.

We were all in.

The next date was a small church. When we arrived, the pastor informed my Dad that he had been sick and he wanted to preach that day even though we had been scheduled to do the whole service.

So we sang a couple of songs and sat down...my Dad was very worried.

But, that little church took up an offering of over $900! It was the exact amount we needed to cover expenses for the month. We knew then that God was going to take care of our family...and He always has.

The TV Show

Over the years, our family grew to 10...and then I got married and had twins within a year. At one point all 13 of us were living on our 45' bus for a full six months!

That piqued the interest of some television producers and they pitched my family to TLC. We filmed a pilot episode for TLC called Home Sweet Bus. It was very well rated and received...but unfortunately they decided to cancel the first season after they had already ordered more episodes.

This was right in the middle of the big Duggar scandal so it could have had something to do with that.

Either way, our producers are still pitching our show and who knows where it will go. As far as we know, there is no one else who does exactly what we do. Most other traveling singing groups have a house they go back and forth to, but we never have.

My Dad always says we do 275 dates a year, if we got one more we'd go full-time.

From two dates on the schedule to being booked two years in advance, these 20 years have been a crazy ride.

And did I mentioned we all lived on a bus?!

Sort:  

wellcome

Very cool... I found this video on Youtube about the show. It gives a good intro but pretty wild growing up on a bus.

That's it! The full episode is available on Amazon and iTunes. Thanks for checking it out!

Hey that's what I call packing them in. I can't imagine going through this.

How does that works with State residency and home schooling? I've traveled all 48 States by car but it would be very different to be out there all the time.

We are residents of Missouri and pay taxes there. Our church serves as our home address and all of our mail is sent there. They find out where we'll be a week or so in advance and send our mail ahead. It's a system that has worked for us since day one. We definitely home-schooled, but we would have done that anyway because we believe it's the best way.

Side Note: We learned a ton just from traveling. Saw lots of historical places and learned a lot just from being on the road.

Wow - that's a fascinating childhood! My ex was a pastor who at one point was going to start a traveling ministry, and that "two dates" feeling was pretty terrifying. Looking forward to more posts from the back of the bus!

Exactly...scary, but God is faithful! Always has been.

Thanks for reading and sharing a bit of your story also!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46