Ethnically Confused in Japan

11899852_10207966936515532_5493690572327105678_n.jpg

My Introduction

Hello folks of steemit! My name is Anthony and I was told about this community by a longtime friend who goes by @kendewitt. Since I had been into the concept of cryptocurrencies and also more or less a reddit addict for a few years now I figured why not give this thing a shot. I'm really interested in reading about all the amazing ideas and applications that are being used for blockchain technology and it is exciting to be learning about all of this as it happens. In a way it is as if we are taking part in history.

A Short Biography

I started life in Los Angeles where I learned many things about life, living in cities and being a chill west-coast bro. As a person of mixed ethnicity I could never figure out who to identify with or why. You see I was brought up as a typical American kid by my Mexican-American father and my Caucasian-American mother. Any other halflings out there might understand me when I mention how we never really feel accepted by peer groups. whether it was hanging out with Mexican friends who spoke Spanish around me to exclude me from conversations or white friends who commented on my people's affinity for tacos, I found that the acceptance and sense of belonging that I desired from my peers was not something that I could attain.

The Land of the Rising Sun

The belonging that I craved lead me for one reason or another to studying Japanese. I guess I figured that since I don't really understand my place in the world then I'd make one of my own, that and I did have some weeaboo tendencies. Coincidentally while taking Japanese classes at my local community college is how I met fellow Steemit user @kendewitt who introduced me to this community in the first place. Flash forward 15 or so years later and here I am living in Japan. Japan is really awesome and I like that it is amazingly safe, there are somethings however that I don't like too much but I won't get into that here. I've been living here for three years now and since I have managed to pick up a wife along the way, I will be here for the foreseeable future.

Naked Foreigners in Western Japan

Ahhhh Beppu, when the smell of sulfur wafts into your car window you know you have arrived in the onsen capital of Japan on the southern island of Kyushu. What are onsen you might say? Well onsen or hot-springs, as we anglophones call them, are just about Japanese people's favorite thing in the whole wide world. As you might have guessed this is where I call home and it is a great place to relax and get away from it all while getting butt naked with a bunch of old Japanese men and sitting in boiling hot water for five to ten minutes at a time. (it's really not that bad I swear.)

The Future and Beyond

I would like to close my self-introduction by briefly explaining what I'd like to bring to this community. First of all, I really enjoy cooking and eating in equal measures, so I would like to introduce a few of my favorite places to eat around my area and also maybe share some recipes. lately I've been cooking a lot of Mexican food even though the ingredients are really hard to come by here in Japan. I might also use this as an outlet for my musings about language learning and teaching or just as a form of self-expression. Either way, I look forward to growing together with this amazing community and learning more about what these new frontiers have to offer.

Sort:  

Nice photos, welcome to Steem

Hey there and welcome to Steemit 😉 I hope you will enjoy to be a part of this great Community and as well will enrich it by sharing some great content with us 😊

Still trying to make a habit of checking this site. Gonna be hard to break the ol reddit habit.

Oh I think you will get used to it ways faster than you think 😉 But you're right it's always taking some time to learn something new but we all are just ligelong learners right? 😊

Welcome! Hope you like steemit!
welcometo.gif Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES by @hien-tran
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steemit! :)

It's about time you posted man! Welcome to Steemit. Have they given you your implant yet?

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome @calculatingchaos 😎😉
I follow you now greetings from Cologne Germany my name is Lars @laloelectrix
#upvoted and #resteemed 👍

wow nice hat bro u from?

Congratulations @calculatingchaos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93