My journey -- From Model, to Military, to MillionairesteemCreated with Sketch.

hello steemit.jpg

Hello Fellow Steemsters!

How do you even start talking about yourself without sounding like a 7th grader on their first day of class, much less a creepy profile on a dating site? “Hi, my name is Angela, and I like long walks on the beach”. Haha

Here it goes

My name is Angela and I am 27 years old living in Nebraska. It’s ridiculously cold here right now and I am counting down the days till warmer weather graces us with his presence.
I was born and raised at about 10 thousand feet in the mountains of Colorado.

Fun fact:

When I was born my parents were dirt poor and could only afford this stagecoach house that was built in 1864. That’s the year good ‘ol Abe was president to give you reference. At the time they purchased it the walls were see through, it had no electricity, and no running water.

Great place to have a new born. Lol

cabin.JPG

My parents were not planning to have a child anytime, so I was a HUGE surprise. My dad was 48 and already had children from a previous marriage that were around their twenties. Luckily my dad knew all about building and renovating so he slowly added actual insulated walls and electricity.

26169326_10215226669689519_7574648547770450331_n.jpg

When I was 18 months we finally had running water so I thought that was pretty neat.

...................................................................

Mommy and me.JPG

SAD PART WARNING: My mom was addicted to alcohol and passed away when I was three, so my lovely dad was now responsible for this little menace as a single father.

26219342_10215226435283659_8426622537930341786_n.jpg

I think he did pretty freaking awesome if you ask me.

This didn’t come without a butt load of struggle though. When I was 8 he had kidney cancer, when I was 10 he had a brain tumor, and when I was 13 he had a heart attack. Slowly the roles became reversed as I was now taking care of him and quickly becoming an adult the hard way.

Fast forward a few years I got noticed for modeling despite my small stature (5’3”). I obviously would never be in high fashion but as long as I was proportionate I could do print and other side jobs.

expo collage.jpg

This opened a whole new world for me as growing up I was constantly bullied so I didn’t really think I was anything spectacular. But slowly through modeling I learned how to love myself, flaws and all. But there was still something in me longing for a challenge for something bigger. And what better challenge then joining the military as a very small female haha.

mil 1.jpg

I became a member of Security Forces (Military Police) in the Air Force.

I continued modeling while serving in the military including modeling the championship custom motorcycles in Sturgis.

sturgis.JPG

I also became involved with fitness competitions in the National Physique Committee which lead me into fitness modeling.

fitness.JPG

The military taught me everything I know now including perseverance and just how much I can truly accomplish.
One of the best things I learned was how to use my stubborn nature for good. I could apply this stubbornness into the idea that I would NEVER fail.
Remember how I said my dad knew everything about building? Well naturally I was raised with the inclination to improve things and be creative. Being dad’s little helper, it was very important that I held the flash light just right and not repeat any of the numerous combination of swear words he used. Now that I’m an adult I face palm myself everyday as I realize just how much I have become him.

I now flip houses for a living and swear words have become my main form of communication. Lord help me when I become a mother.
I now spend my time destroying walls and drooling over new light fixtures and trying my best to not electrocute myself as I rewire things from the 70s.

I’m currently on my third flip and will by flooding all of your feeds with my hilarious and, often times, painful failures.
Here’s a glimpse of my very small portfolio and some pictures of the journey.

navarro.JPG

new 1.JPG

new 2.JPG

Thanks for taking the time to read my silly thoughts and joining me on this Steemit Journey! I can't wait to meet you all!

I'm obviously a newb so if you have any ideas, comments, or criticism please share!

Sort:  

God Bless you girl, what a story! Gonna follow your story here! Good luck to you!

Hey buddy! I'm so honored that you found my post and enjoyed my story! @entrepreneur916 and I were literally just talking about you over dinner haha! Jake was telling me all about the game he wants to create for steemit and how much you've taught him, so freaking awesome!
You've been a huge help to both of us and I look forward to working with you in the future! Thank you so much for the upvotes, great motivation to keep pressing on :)

Really? Thats too funny. I wish you two the best of luck with your game! Please let me know when it goes up! Thanks.

Welcome on board to Steemit! It is definitely a cold place where you're from, I can't remember when was my last vacation to a cold country. But I am definitely looking forward to it. From your story, you're definitely a very diverse person and have clear-minded of what you want to achieve in life! With all the support here, I wish you all the best and of course have a blast here! If by any chance you're travelling, can check me out as I am a travel blogger :D

Hi! Thank you so much for your comment and kind words! I haven't been able to travel a whole lot but that's the goal!!! I will definitely give you a follow so I can see all your amazing journeys! Keep in touch!!

You're more than welcome :))) I am always glad to witness a person's transformation and seeing their hard work paid off. I definitely have faith in you and pretty sure you'll be successful on steemit! Sure thing! I'll keep you on my eye :D

Aweee that makes me feel so good. I'm not gonna lie, I've been a little discouraged. My hubby has been sitting next to me, a week old on steemit, and already made 2 grand lol. Here I am with my little 2 cents haha. But I will keep on trucking, I think what I do just hasn't quite caught traction yet so maybe I can lead the way :)

Hey @bunnymoney, welcome to the community! I, too, am new and am excited to start following awesome content creators like yourself!

My family has a history of flipping and renting properties and I have interest but do not have the skills to do it myself. I do look forward to seeing what your adventures include.

Do you plan to share information about your fitness/nutrition routines? Your physique is outstanding, you must feel very proud. See you around!

Hi @thedreamsteem! Haha I love your name, super creative! And yes! I will be posting a lot about health and fitness. I look foward getting to know you and helping you in your fitness goals!

D'aww shucks, thanks for the compliment.

Glad we "bumped" into each other so early on in our community lifespans, will certainly be talking soon!

@thedreamsteem HAHA awe you're welcome! So glad we met, this place is awesome!

Welcome! I did 26 flips last year.

Holy moly @investfourmore!! That's a ton of flips. I still just a baby in the industry but someday I'll be as awesome as you ;) what areas do you flip in? When did you start?

I am in Greeley Colorado. I started in 2001 so it has been a while! You can read about it on my blog(my user name) if you want to see my properties and advice

Oh wow that's awesome, I'll definitely be reading about it! Just started following you so I look forward to learning from all your posts!

Upvoted and resteemed. Welcome honey! Great article!

Thank you baby! I appreciate all your amazing support and advice through these crazy journeys! I can't wait to share more!

This is quite literally one of the best introductions I've read on Steemit! And WOW! you've done a lot in a short span of 27 years. It's also very impressive to see a woman go from modeling to military like that. Shows that you have a lot to give in this world and aren't afraid to test out your many talents. As you know, I'm glad to see you here on Steemit. Thank you for taking the time to properly introduce yourself. That goes a long way in my book! :)

Thank you so much! That seriously means the world to me, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I gave you a shout out in the post I just made which I think you saw. I know I don't have many followers but hopefully it'll send some support your way!

body👍⛧🔥🔥🔥

Welcome to Steemit @bunnymoney! Great intro post. I loved it.
I look forward to your posts.

Thank you so much @jeffways! I appreciate your support!

Hey @bunnymoney! Started following you a bit ago, but nice to finally read you introductory! Welcome. It was great to read your story and learn a little about you.
~Best of Wishes and God bless

Hi! Wow, what a story. You remind me a lot of my mom. She grew up on a farm, joined the military and entered in fitness competitions. Oh, and not to mention that she is a real estate agent now! Haha, but oh my goodness. I don't even know you, but I now have mad respect for you for all that you've been through. I just joined Steemit today, so we can figure out this site together. Be sure to follow my page (I model too). And I'm DEFINITELY going to be following your page. Best of luck to you my friend.

Hi Zoe!! That's so awesome! It sounds like your mom and I would get along beautifully! Lol. So funny how small our little newb community is. Jake was telling me how you were also commenting with him (entreprenuer916). Can't wait to see all your amazing posts!

Thanks so much! And same here :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46