Introduction

Hello! My name is Brandon, 23 years of age, and I grew up and currently live in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. I have a degree in Neuroscience and a minor in Chemistry from Carnegie Mellon University and am currently applying to medical school. Basically, I'm a huge brain nerd and would love to share my passion for science and technology with others.

I have been researching and investing in cryptocurrency since the summer and I was first introduced to Steemit by taking a class created by @jerrybanfield about becoming a Steemit witness. I highly recommend the tutorials he has posted about becoming a witness or even taking his course on www.interestingengineering.com. I stumbled across this site last week and found some great programming courses (Matlab, c++, python, HTML, Swift etc) for anyone interested in increasing their programming proficiency.

I love to learn and am currently learning multiple programming languages, the math behind machine learning (Linear Algebra, Real and Complex Analysis, Information Theory etc), economics & trading strategies, Spanish & Japanese, and to play the piano. I am interested in learning as much as possible which is another reason why I decided to join the Steemit community. Some of my hobbies and interests include: science, sports, film (any language/any time period), music (any music especially what hip people call "chill"), videos games (just downloaded PUBG for Xbox) and working out. I would love any film and music suggestions and would be happy to share my "top" (read influential) film list. Here is a link to my soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/brandon-rogowski (*highly recommend "Friday Afternoon" if you need to relax and just clear your mind). I hope to create some new playlists in the near future.

Overall, I hope to become a witness and an active member of the community by sharing my knowledge and by soaking up as much information as possible from the community. I look forward to interacting with all of you and appreciate each of you that took the time to read this.

Photo on 12-13-17 at 5.52 PM.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks! I can not wait to start putting out content. Any suggestions?

Hello, Brandon, and Welcome to Steemit.

With your varied interests, you'll find plenty of interest on Steemit, as well as plenty of subjects that you can post about.

Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

I really appreciate the advice!

Congratulations @brogowsk, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 4837 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $733.13. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Wow! That is really exciting for my first post. Be ready for some more content!

Welcome to Steem Community @brogowsk! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks for the advice

Hey @brogowsk! Welcome to steemit community! Good luck and enjoy your stay :)

Thank you! Any advice for a newcomer?

We value original, quality content here, so first advice is to work on it. Second advice, interact with other steemians and followers will come! Good luck

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.29% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

Hey dude! Pittsburg is a cool town.
I am into hypnosis, myself. Self taught and have seen it work miracles on myself and loved ones. If placebo effect is 45-55% effective with no side effect - why big pharma?
Oh right I just answered my own question. But seroiusly looking forward to some brainy brain stories.

hmm haven't looked into hypnosis much but probably an interesting read for sure

Welcome to the community, sir. Brandon is a wonderful name... because it is also my name.
I'm quite new here myself and am currently working on my undergrad degrees. I, too, love science and am trying to share it with as many people as I can. Looking forward to seeing your future posts.

Thanks Brandon, any topics you would be interested in reading?

Chemistry tutorials- simply show people how to do gen chem stuff. I just got through chem 112 for science majors (gen chem 2 on steroids at my university) and that was the absolute most difficult class I've ever had.
Any general knowledge you can provide on neuroscience, or any other topic, would be awesome too. The science tag is lacking of actual science information and is full of "brain waves and smelling salts."

Yeah, I can definitely do that. I currently tutor online through Chegg so I could create some study guides/"cheat sheets" to help people.

Also, save your upvotes so your steem power doesn't decrease so fast. :)

@steem-untalented
@OriginalWorks
These two can be your bestfriend for a little while. Helps a bit more steem come in.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brogowsk to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks for the suggestions!

welcome to this social network, I´m going to wait for your future posts regarding medicine, health and others that I am sure you have.

Thank you for the kind welcome. I look forward to creating new content for the community!

Hi!! Welcome to Steemit. This is a amazing platform, good luck. I am following u!!

I appreciate it! Are there any topics you would be interested reading about? I have so many potential ideas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61641.91
ETH 2997.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45