Hello! Animal mad, sci-fi geek, easily side-tracked homesteader here...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Well, I made it! I finally joined up to Steemit.

065.JPG

My name's Geoff Wakeling, I'm in my 30s and I'm a wannabe farmer. When I say 'wannabe', I mean that I have a small urban homestead with chickens, quails and veggies. That I'm lucky enough to have inherited some farmland which I want to move to in a couple of years. And that I really want to grow all my own food, live in a sustainable manner, and inspire others to do the same.

Problem is....

There's Netflix. And movies. And cuddly dogs...and family for that matter...which all distract me. You see, I ain't just some hippy farmer (though there's nothing wrong with that either) but I'm a sci-fi geek, I write fiction (fantasy and science fiction), I try to stay fit, I run the odd marathon. But it's important to have goals, and hopes, and dreams, right?! So, there - I'm a wannabe farmer and I'm gradually working my way towards that aspiration and living life on the way.

This is my husband....
Feb 2016 285.JPG

These are my dogs....
097.JPG

This is my 19 year old deaf but cute cat....

040.JPG

And these are a TEENY number of my chickens...

094.JPG

I'm a brand new Steemian, so there's LOTs to learn! But, you know, I like to procrastinate so I will probably do A LOT of reading on here now rather than getting on with chores! Then, of course, there's chickens to clean out, plants to pot up, cut flowers to harvest, unfinished fiction chapters to write...the list is endless but I'll get to it.

In the meantime, I look forward to becoming part of the Steemit community!

THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

No-one said farming was easy! I also am plagued by being easily distracted, if you find a cure let me know! Welcome to Steemit, look forward to more cute cat and chicks pics!!
(PS: here's my own intro blog, follow if you think it's interesting. I wouldn't mind homesteading myself at some stage too)
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@kate-m/bom-dia-from-an-irish-ethnobotanist-in-brazil-wild-food-amazing-nature-hippy-souls-shamanic-shenanigans

It sure isn't! I definitely would get WAY more done if I wasn't getting distracted. Thanks for the link - I'll take a look.

I think the secret is to acknowledge your own "weaknesses" and simply play them to your advantage. Like avoid work that requires long-drawn out concentration and put yourself in positions where for example crazy minded brain storming is valued. This is my conclusion (like what was I thinking deciding to do a PhD!!!?)

Hello @brimwoodfarm, you used the #homesteadslackers tag, but we cannot find you listed on our SteemitHomesteaders.Slack.com membership list. What is your slack username in the community so we can accurately link you?

If you're not a member, we'd love to have you join our community! Check out this link: https://steemit.com/community/@steemithomestead/join-the-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Information on the creation and rules for use of the #homesteadslackers tag can be read about here: https://steemit.com/homesteadslackers/@steemithomestead/homesteadslackers

Thanks!
@steemithomestead

Apologies. That's a newbie oversight - saw it on a couple of other people's posts and used it. BUT...I'd LOVE to join. I'll head over and take a look. :)

Hi Brimwoodfarm. I've finally made it too, my first post today. Thanks to you and @wholesomeroots for all the encouragement. Loving your posts.I still need to learn about upvoting, resteeming etc. though

Hello and welcome! It's a big learning curve for sure, but the more you use it, the more you'll get accustomed to it. Looking forward to seeing your posts. :D

Welcome to Steem @brimwoodfarm I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you! That's very kind!

ah the struggle between Netflix and barn chores. Even though I know I'm more peaceful and productive....and sleep better...the more time I spend with the goats, I still get sucked into netflix....What's your latest animal project?

I know, it's SO tough! At the moment I'm just kinda winding down for winter and selling off the last of the quail and POL hens so I've minimal numbers in case Avian Flu hits again.

Welcome to steemit! I'm not a home steader but I do run =)
Hope You enjoy it here. Resteeming =)

Thanks Chelsea. :) I need to get back into my running - this year's been a total mess. Need to get some motivation!

Maybe refocus onto a smaller more easily obtainable goal. I used to be in marathon or half marathon mode all the time. I have always stayed in half marathon shape. They're more fun less stress mentally, physically...

I totally agree. Marathon's take too much time to focus on. Over the past few years I've preferred to do half's because I can get ready in only a couple of months without too much work. I'm going to try just getting back into regular running twice a week...discover my love for it again, and then hopefully increase.

=)
Best of luck. And I am with you, running and exercise in general shouldn't feel like a chore you should at least enjoy it!

welcome on steemit
i am steemit educator if you want to know how to work on steemit my all post help you how to earn more i feel happiness to help others come to my blog @farihelper

Welcome to Steemit!
Great introduction post! :)

Hello, @Brimwoodfarm, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thanks for stopping by...and same here! First post, first reply etc. :D

welcome to steemit @brimwoodfarm
following you now :D
follow me back pls .)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81