"Let me introduce myself, My name is... "

Hello everybody on steemit. My name is Brandon. I'm currently a junior in college, majoring in marine science and minoring in computer science with aspirations of being a marine/ocean engineer in a few long years. I'm 20 years old and am a huge star wars fan...

Been browsing for months and finally decided to create an account. With that being said, I'll probably be posting about school, my undergraduate research, and about my favorite hobby of all: fishing.

Research:
I'm currently doing some research on fiddler crabs in coastal salt marshes. The three species of fiddler crabs I'm studying are Uca pugnax, Uca minax, and Uca pugilator. Or the Atlantic Mud fiddler, Red-jointed fiddler, and Atlantic Sand fiddler, respectively. If you would like to learn more about these little guys feel free to check out some of my posts later on. (These guys make great sheepshead bait if any of you fish, just make sure you don't throw dead ones out as you won't get a single hit).

I've posted two pictures of them that I took while doing fieldwork. Can any of you guess which one is the male and which is the female?

Fiddler.jpg
Fiddler 1.jpg

Sorry for being a bit boring and long with this introduction, my future posts will be straight to the point. Thanks for having me!

Sort:  

Congratulations @branbello! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi Brandon! Nice to meet you. I remember seeing these little crabs cross the street in the summertime. I'm guessing the one with the huge arm is the male. I think I'm wrong though, lol. Your intro wasn't boring at all. Hope you create a lot more of awesome content to start you on your steemit journey!!!!

You're correct. The huge claw is there to act as a way to attract mates. The males will "wave" the claw at the females in hopes of luring one to their burrow.
Of course, it can be used when fighting or defending itself, but if the claws get too big then it's no longer practical for offense/ defense.

Welcome to steemit branbello! I hope you find a home in our community!

welcome : nice to meet with you

Hello and welcome to steemit.
I joined in July but only started posting last month.

One thing I have found is that it is difficult to get followers and therefore have your posts seen and upvoted. If I may reccommend something to you it's steemfollower. basically it's just a much smaller subcommunity where you can find followers and we all upvote within that community.

It doesn't cost anything and participating on steemfollower has no impact on your profile here except in the normal manner of upvoting.

Feel free to check it out via my referral.

https://steemfollower.com/?r=1716

(All steemfollowers receive a bonus for referrals).

Good luck in your steem voyage!

Hey there, welcome to steemit, Brandon. This is a place worth spending time if you are into community building and sharing. :)

Welcome!! Cute lil crabs make a great intro. Can't wait for your future posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45