Bellyrina - The Warrior Princess

The term "belly dance" invokes images of swirling veils, jingling scarves, and soft, sensual curves. And indeed, belly dancers are all that. But what most people fail to realise is that belly dancers are much stronger than you may think, and a LOT more badass!

Bellyrina - Aksa Beach 01.jpg

My name is Chitra, and I'm one of India's first professional belly dance instructors. I'm also the pioneer of Club Belly, and the creator of the TwitterGetsFitter movement. I love to celebrate belly dance and belly dancers from across the world, and show the world not just how beautiful and talented they are, but also how incredibly strong. Years of muscle isolations and combinations give our bodies a great deal of flexibility and strength!

Plus, we dance with a lot of props that help further strengthen our bodies. My favourite? The sword! ;)
IMG_20170607_205319_776.jpg

So come say Hi! I promise I won't use the sword (unless I haven't had my coffee yet. Then all bets are off!)

Sort:  

Welcome on board from south of you :)
Welcome to visit: REPORTS FOR NEWBIES

I am following your blog - Welcome to Steemit. I hope you greatly succeed in this venue.

Thank you very much! Excited to be here :)

I am so excited to follow you! Welcome to Steemit!

I once heard that belly dancing was done to make women's bodies stronger during childbirth? Is there any truth to this?

I do hope you'll bless us with videos of your performances, and maybe we'll get lucky enough for some instructional content. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us on Steemit!

Thank you!

Yes, it's true. Belly dance originated as a fertility dance, and was performed and taught by temple priestesses. The movements strengthen the abdomen and pelvic floor, and have been known to make labour as well as recovery much easier. In fact, I teach it to several pregnant goddesses, and they love it!

I shall definitely share some of my videos soon. :) Thank you for all the encouragement, I truly appreciate it. Have a good one!

LoL! I have a sword too and I know mostly remember how to use it, perhaps we should spar sometime XD

(that's a wikipedia image not me, I'm not that good looking XD but my sword looks like that one)

Welcome on board, I'm going to follow you partly for the amusement with the sword, partly because dancers and martial artists are my favourite anatomical references and mostly because you sound interesting XP

Hahaha. Bring it on! :-D En garde! X-D

Congratulations @bombaybellyrina! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! :) I would like to visit India one day and come see the belly dancers :)

You must! There are more of us than a lot of people realise :)

Welcome Chitra :-) Nice intro - Follow me and I will follow you ;-)

Thank you, Patrick!

My pleasure ☻

Welcome Chitra! It seems you bring quite the exotic experience to Steemit!

Thank you! I shall try to keep it exotic and not let my inner nerd-girl come out (too) often ;-)

Welcome here! I think dancing is the best way to express yourself. I myself am a dancer (just another type of dancer-bulgarian folklore) and can't live without it. I have friends in Japan, which are also belly dance instructors, and they are very nice women.

Hello, fellow dancer! <3 I completely understand what you mean, I can't live without my dance. It keeps me healthy, happy, and sane. :)

Welcome! Glad to see another fellow Indian on here! This is a great community.

Hello! Thank you for the love :) Yes, I've heard much about the amazing Steemit community from my dear friend @mammasitta. Excited to be more active here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97