Greetings! How Steem will Save the Planet... For RealsteemCreated with Sketch.

First of all, I’m honored to finally make my first post amongst this incredible community that has matured so quickly. Bravo!

My name is Stephen (quick intro I promise) and 5 years ago I co-founded an environmental clothing company that plants trees for every item sold. We sustainably manufacture all of our items and have planted just over 15 million trees to date.

I absolutely love this planet...So much so that I wanted to focus my introduction to this network on the important ways that Steem, Bitshares, and EOS can/will contribute to a global shift in our attitude towards a more positive and progressive future when it comes to interacting with the blockchain.

Ok, hold on a second. Before I get too carried away with myself here, I want to disclaim that I actually don’t quite understand the extreme technical side of all this (yet). So I will do my best to keep this high level and provide sources to where I get this information from.

Here we go :)

Since I have focused the last 5 years of my life around planting more trees I’ve also earned an honorary degree in Internet Troll Self Defense . So let’s take a slightly different approach at this energy issue shall we :)

Clearing the Air (no pun intended)

A few years ago I read an article on coindesk that broke down the “environmental costs of mining bitcoin”, and being the naive new “technologist turned environmentalist”, it hit me like a punch in the face.
pow-right-in-the-kisser.jpg
*If you think the subtle puns are gonna stop...they wont, I’m just getting started.

It outlined the insanely high costs to mine bitcoin with a PoW model and how it will not be sustainable in the future. Now some would argue that the operating costs and environmental impact that other currencies have in comparison, matches (or could potentially exceed) the mining cost of bitcoin. This is a discussion I will not participate in at this point in time.

However, I think we can all understand and agree that PoS requires a fraction of the resources compared to PoW, so rather than regurgitate stats I pulled from 3 year IBM powerpoint presentations, I’ll move on.

Change for the better

The technical efficiencies that define a PoS model, do not always tell the entire story of the creators of the Dapps which have inherited it. The other day I was listening to an interview with Dan Larimer where he called out the wasteful process of the PoW model in comparison to EOS’ delegated PoS. And what I realized was that the community of Dapps his team has built, and the shift in the way we collaborate, interact, and lift each other up, is paving the road for a positive shift in a complicated ecosystem.

I believe this community will amount to incredible things and I’m very grateful to be a part of it.

Thanks and I look forward to chatting with you all!

-Stephen

Sort:  

Welcome! I am a vegetarian (sometimes vegan) who cares deeply about the environment. The few times I've shared my anti-pipeline/oil views (albeit in an oil-focused province), I've faced those same trolls... lots of respect for you and what you do!

What's the name of your tree-planting clothing company?

Thanks jessica! The company is called tentree :) www.tentree.com

Holy cow! I love tentree!

@bojanson big ups! I love your company! Kudos to you sir!

Welcome to Steem @bojanson I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @bojanson!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Steemit is going to take over the world. :D

Welcome mate nice post to start with

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 Check the contest for newbies-https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem
*Thank you*
 

Welcome, and looking forward to seeing how you use the platform! Xx, Kay

Welcome aboard, Stephen! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Welcome, your post is amazing. I am really happy there are people like you that care about our planet. But I also think that all of us need to look for better aletrantives. For example, I am now getting all my clothes from slow fashion brands and my jewelry from brands that use recycled gold and sterling silver. My favorite ball chain necklaces don't come at Earth's expense anymore and I am glad for it: https://www.analuisa.com/collections/ball-chain-necklace
So let's work together to achieve a better future for our Planet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47