Hello, I'm Matt - a big fan of indie games and a speedrunner

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello everyone,

I'm still trying to fully understand how steem and other sites work. A friend of mine told me that it's good to introduce myself so here I am.

My name is Matt, I'm 25 and from Poland.
I'm currently finishing major in maths - I'm aiming to teach in highschool, that's what I always dreamed of.

The other thing that I love doing is playing and streaming games - hard and frustrating platformers like SMB, Wings of Vi, The End is Nigh and complex puzzle games like DROD, Desktop Dungeons, La-Mulana. There are tons more that you can check out on my steam profile if you want, the link will be at bottom.

Except for that, I speedrun few games that I have biggest sympathy to. I started with Bob was Hungry (excellent meat boy like platformer by the way, highly recommended for platformers enthusiasts) but didn't try it too seriously as I had no competition. (now it has changed, someone got awesome time and I'm eager to try some more :D) 20180125223725_1.jpg

Then I started speedrunning Croc: Legend of the Gobbos, that's one of first games I played as a kid and with added love to platformers I quickly began to sink into running it over and over again. There was no much competition for PC although there was one guy who speedran it quite well and that motivated me to get better and better times. Eventually I got WR and I'm happy of that, as the route and tricks used in run are pretty well-optimised. I will be trying to beat that time in few months, that's for sure.

Last but not least, I'm running Wings of Vi - a really hard game made by Solgryn, inspired by I wanna be the Guy. This game is hard as hell to complete so speedrunning it has a large margin of error to make a run good. I still have lots of space to improve in this game and I'm gradually doing better - that goes for almost every game.

20180125225758_1.jpg

Many people tend to link high gaming skill with a talent or good reflexes but that's not entirely true - actually it's almost entirely false. Most of the gaming skill comes from persistence and disassembling the game mechanics. It's rarely pure reflex check, I think more important part is being able to quickly analyze the situation and react properly. Perhaps if someone finds this post interesting, I will make more of them describing particular games or achievements.

Links:
Twitch:

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit Matt =) This is a great community, I hope you get along with people =)

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

hello and welcome @bobslej~~

Congratulations @bobslej! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bobslej! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59991.95
ETH 2664.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45