Pretend this is a profile page

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I'm going use the "introduce yourself" post as the personalizable profile page I wish steem had.
Get ready for a friggin mess, people.

If steem had a tiny bio space, like Medium, I'd write:

  • You're probably here for the spreadsheets.

Coz I create and share a lot of spreadsheets. Most of them public and free. But there's also a "spreadsheet subscription service." Not my full time day job, but enough people asked, so I started one.

If steem had a description field, like Tumblr, I'd write:

  • Data and analysis on social platforms and consumer media. Lots of messy spreadsheets. My favorite thing about the Internet: Creativity is not limited to the professionals.  

I can separate creativity from business, and my day job is plain old for-profit business marketing stuff. But probably the only reason the business of media can hold my attention is coz of the creativity we see every day.

If steem had an About page, I'd write:

  • Marketer. (Yikes, run away! We're not in short supply. Especially on social media.) And analyst (with no college degree and depressingly limited math, statistics, and programming skills. But I get by with the help of lots of YouTube tutorials.)

    This steem blog is mostly about how people create on social media. Both commercially (to get paid) and for commerce-free creativity and connection. (Culture happens whether it's commercial or not. And that's awesome.)

    I'm pretty ignorant about Bitcoin, and virtual currencies. But I'm very interested in social platforms, and semi-literate about
    mechanism design/game theory (which ends up informing a lot of behavior on social platforms, even when people do not get paid). Because steem has such a close-knit relationship with Bitcoin, blockchain, and virtual currencies, it can feel a little overwhelming for somebody like me.

    Even if one never cashes out to bitcoin, it seems critical to learn the
    internal currencies on steem (which as of time of this publication, I have not done, apologies).

    Still, hope to contribute some value, and take some myself. Especially eager to read stuff from people chatting about economics.

If steem had an elsewhere on the Internet field, I'd fill in:

  • individual twitter: @bluechoochoo (lots of chatter about social platforms (especially content discovery + the algorithms behind that), music business, tv business, cord cutting, marveling and admiration of Instagram diet tea promo posts
  • project twitter: @casualsheets (my spreadsheets as as service project. Lots of pop factoids, spreadsheets, note taking and nerd joke making) This account DOES NOT look down on beauty vloggers. They are a business worth studying! 
  • newsletter: tinyletter.com/bluechoochoo irregular emails about topics listed above. For daydreamers only. Ambitious people KEEP OUT. 
  • Casual Spreadsheets (the service): I urge you NOT buy this unless you've got a good feel for the free stuff. But if you've all the way down to this messy page, you deserve a 20% off discount code: STEEMFAM



Sort:  

Strange. I would have expected this to be explosive.

Next time, try #totally-illuminati?

;)

After seeing what gets votes, next time I'll try, #ThoughtCatalog :D

Have you ever dramatically changed a habit, or gotten yourself out of a rut? How'd you do it?

Welcome to Steemit! If you would like to see statistics of any post on Steemit, you can use Steemd.com. I have made a bookmark for your convenience in accessing Steemd. https://steemit.com/steemd/@craigwilliamz/steemd-statistics-bookmark-for-easy-access-to-steemd

Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in getting up every time we do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46