A Humble Start in the Big City

 

 Hi Im Billy blockchain.  I am a crypto enthusiast from the New York Metro Area.  Im 1st gen latino my parents are Dominican, I was born in Harlem and raised Uptown, in Washington Heights.  

I grew up in a modest home. A family of 5 in a 2 bedroom apt, 3 kids I was the middle child, I have 2 sisters and we all had to share 1 room. My dad was a warehouse manager in Brooklyn. He died when I was 20, so I never got to spend time with him when I needed him the most. And my mom God Bless her heart was a sewing machine operator down in the fashion district of lower Manhattan. We didnt have much and a lot of our furniture was stuff we found on the curb.  We made the best with what we had.  As a young man I had to walk a straight line or else I would suffer the same fate as many of my peers.  Jail, broke, addicted to drugs, a rap sheet, dead, crippled, or JAIL 4 life(just as good as Dead).  I didnt have too many role models and most of our neighbors were all drug dealers.

This is my mom and dad.  Im also in the picture...... Take a guess....Its nice to know I was conceived out of true love..... 

 When I was a young boy I would always dream about far and away places. So I would collect paper maps from travel agencies.  Or I would write a letter to a far off embassy and request a map of their country.  As if I was planning a trip or something at least in my imagination.  I was such a sweet kid.   I’ve always  loved to read and Learn about all types of things.  I had to save up to buy my own toys mostly because we had very little money.   

As a kid I was very smart.  I taught myself English just by watching t.v. .  Spanish was the only language spoken at my house.  In the 3rd grade I was transferred to an advanced school.  I was a very promising young man.   When I was 8 I started a business selling frozen koolaid ice-cubes on toothpicks for a quarter, out in front of my building.  I had an old broken firetruck with a little bell I would ring to let the kids know I was outside.  I remember I sold enough that I was finally was able to afford the black lion from Voltron.. Remember Voltron?  I wanted that thing so bad I would dream about it for days on end….  Finally I was able to get me one.  But I only got to play with it for that weekend.  On Monday I was so eager to show all my friends at school what I had bought.  I remember pulling it out of my backpack and seeing all my friends faces like “woah!! u bought that yourself” we were all mesmerized by the black lion which formed the head of Voltron!!!!.  Anyway long story short someone stole it from my bag while I was at lunch….  I cried that day..  I cried  alone in the bathroom all night…. The teacher said she didnt see anything…  Oh well…….. I have so many stories like that of growing up as a young man with a determined will and no clear direction.  But a  All these things made me stronger. .. Now I laugh!!!! Sometimes I get emotional just thinking about it...........   

As a teen many social pressure took their toll on me. And without going into much detail, its safe to say I was headed toward a tragic fate...

Anyway I struggled for years until I finally made it to a point where I was able to take command of my life.  A point many people I know might swear just doesn’t exist. I became honest with myself and everyone I know.  I became accountable for my actions and inaction.  I began to feel confident in myself again. I knew that if I persevered and endured all these moments of hopelessness and desperation  that I would 1 day regain myself. My self worth, my focus my mind my dignity.  And become the man my father always would have wanted me to be. And boy it wasn’t easy…  (I will tell you more about all that in another post).  Now Im happy to be alive Im somewhat successful at what I do and I enjoy every moment of it.  I work as an Architectural Engineer here in greatest city on earth and I love my Job....  I get to be around and work with the smartest most intelligent and talented people in the industry..  I have worked with just about every major Architectural firm in NY.  And I have engineered unique works from some of the world's best designers and interior decorators. 

Here's one of many beautiful things I've engineered.  (custom wall unit)

 ...

 As of February 2016 crypto currency and block chain is all I read about...lol..  I really caught the bug after putting together an Ether mining rig from instructions I found online.. .. Now I have a couple wallets and Exchange accounts and a bunch of different coins plenty shitcoins lol!!   I trade on poloniex on a regular basis and more recently joined bittrex.  I have already developed a pretty simple but effective trading strategy and have been seeing steady growth for the past few months...  I have been trying to get my friends and family to invest in crypto like bitcoin and a few others, but its like they don't hear what I'm saying or they don't understand.  Most people around here are too caught up in their own petty everyday routines. They just don't seem to want to learn or even want to make an effort to try something new..  As soon as you try and get persuasive they think somethings up, as if its a scheme or a something and your trying to steal their money..lol...  Oh well you can only lead them to water, you know... And eventually ur like whatever ......... I love the outdoors!!!!

 I wont let anything stop me......

Im hoping to meet more people like me... Smart young and ambitious....  Because If ur anything like me you know the value of learning new things and sharing ideas.  Im gonna work to provide some insight and answer peoples crypto questions or life questions in general nothing is irrelevant and Im very open minded lol.  Im generally pretty busy but adding content is something Im gonna work at daily and to hopefully grow and evolve my blog with time..

Im very excited about this platform its so bleeding edge and unique.. Its gonna introduce so many people to the world of crypto through use of steem and steem dollars.  Its just a springboard for the smart entrepreneur to dive deeper into investing and financial freedom....   So if you want to encourage me spilling the beans on my life go ahead and vote me up... I promise I will do the same and if you want to offer ideas  I welcome your feedback.   What a time... To be alive.......   thank you thank you thank you ...  Always Strive And Prosper…...

Best Regards

Your Friend Billy

Sort:  

@blockchainbilly A very inspirational story and I imagine you are an exemplary role model for many younger boys in your neighbourhood now of what can be achieved. New York is a great city. Every dream can come true :)

I try to be. Thanks for reading my post, I really appreciate it. And thanks for the comment....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33