Introduction: My Hero

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

For my first post, I would like introduce myself by sharing my life story from when I was young till present and this post is actually a dedication for my hero(my mom). I hope you guys find it interesting motivational. Do follow me on my ongoing journey because it will be a lot more amazing, trust me!

I was born in a small village called Singkawang in West Kalimantan, Indonesia. It's no longer a village anymore because it has developed quite well for the past few years. The city is very famous for its temples since the majority of the population are chinese buddhist. That's why it's also known as the City of Thousand Temples. I will share more about my hometown on the next post when you guys are interested. For now here is a sneak preview of my hometown.

Since I was young I've always dreamed to go out and see the outside world. But it was very difficult cos I'm not from a wealthy family. Moreover, my dad passed away when I was 5 and therefore my mom had to work hard by herself in order to raise her 3 children. I used to not having what I wanted because she always told me to save up instead of buying stuff that are worthless at the end of the day. Priority. And thanks to that, she managed to send my oldest brother to Singapore to study, followed by my second brother a couple years later and then me the last one. Big decision.

Years of studying allowed me to finally finish my study and receive my Diploma in Engineering. I thought life would be better from then onwards but I was wrong. Being a foreigner in Singapore, you are required to have a visa, either visit, student or work visa. Since I finished my study, I can no longer extends my student visa. Therefore I had to quickly find a job before my time runs out. I also have a huge debt from my study to pay.
I was pretty lucky that most of the company that I applied to accepted me, so I thought.
Then one by one, my work visa application was rejected with no apparent reason. The companies tried for appeal but eventually gave up because they keep getting the same response. I was depressed. I had nothing at that time. It feels as if nobody wants you. I couldn't tell other people how depressed I felt. I even thought of ending my own life but something crossed my mind. I thought about how hard my mom has worked for us. Maybe at some point of time she felt the same way as I did but she didn't give up. That thought allowed me rearrange my plan before it was ruined.

At first, I planned to work for 3 years in order to save up and pay the debt at the same time. Afterwards I would continue my study in Germany. Why Germany? Simple, one of the best country to get your Bacherlor/Master of Engineering, accepted worldwide, but most importantly, free university.
So I took the risk by asking my mom to lend me some money so I can continue my study in Germany. Of course it was rejected. It takes a lot of money to learn the language and the living expenses is way more than in Singapore (My thought at first) But I kept convince her that that option is the only best way. Going back to Indonesia is the least I would do. It's not that it's bad, but with my knowledge and skills at that time, I won't be able to go far. I don't plan to work for other my entire life. So after months of convincing, she finally agreed. I couldn't thanks her enough for supporting me.

Jump forward. Now I'm a student in a local University in Bochum. Pretty small city but I like it here. It's cheaper than any other big city and quieter. I make many new friends, learning new culture and language, chasing my dream. All of this won't be possible without her. I love you mom. You are the best.

The point of all this is to show people that family is the best thing you can have in life. Not money nor anything else.
Of course having money is good too but having your family by your side will always be better.

Ohhh and before you think about giving up, don't even start. There are always be solutions in every problem. If you can't figure it out yourself, ask your family or friends. You can ask me too. I will be glad to help you.

If your mom or anyone in your family is as awesome as mine, do share your story here. I would love to hear it.

As promised, I would share with you guys about my hometown on my next post. It will be very interesting I promise. Do Follow me I will follow you back. Don't forget to upvote if you like my story. More is coming for sure.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @bladez I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to steemit bladez! enjoyed your story!

@bladez "...before you think about giving up, don't even start. There are always be solutions in every problem." -That is a great quote, my man!

Glad to see the positivity spreading on Steemit, like wildfire.

Welcome aboard, I look forward to seeing how you grow! I will follow you...

_Rob

Thanks for your support. I had a rough start in life but managed to get through it. I would say my experiences so far is solid enough to help other people to get through their problem.. Haha..

Welcome to steemit Bladez. I give my mom a lot of credit for raising me too.

Yeah.. Without her I can't even imagine what I would be doing now.. Lol..

Welcome bladez, I hope you enjoy it here! This is a great place for a multitude of reasons; I’m sure you’ll find plenty of your own.

I am going to follow you and ask that in return you follow me. But take note, this type of following is almost a moot point. After all, wouldn’t you rather be following people with similar interests? OR following people whom are like minded?

Just my two cents, but welcome all the same. At my site, @carltong; I have blogs on scams, easy to use faucets, and more. I don’t link to any of these in this letter, because I want to genuinely welcome you to Steemit. It’s that great an invention, lol.

Here is my best advice for you:

”If it seems too good to be true, then it’s NOT true.”

I lost over $1000 at BitcoinsBrain, and almost got taken by FexFund; I was given this advice once; “be nice to everyone and don’t trust anyone”.

Whatever the case, WELCOME HERE. Say hi once in a while and I’ll try to do the same.

Enjoy,
@carltong

@carltong done. I'm still pretty new to steemit so I'm still trying to figure out about voting and following process.. It's a little bit confusing for me.. But I will check out your post for sure those topics you mention do sound interesting.. Cheers..

baby WELCOME.gif
Babies are cute, Steemit make you go coo, here's an upvote, from me for you.

Congratulations @bladez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @bladez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

hi @bladez nice to see you around :) have a nice start here on steemit ! Followed you

@jedigeiss thanks for checking out my post.. hope you will like the upcoming post.. Do check out my 2nd post here.. https://steemit.com/travel/@bladez/singkawang-city-of-thousand-temples

A new Steemian :-) hello @bladez I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Hello @tradewonk.. It's indeed great here.. Wish I've found this earlier.. Hope to see you around too.. Will read up some of your post too.. Do check out my second post.. I'm sure it will be interesting for you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51