You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📈500 Followers Milestone!🎤 Time to tell you who I am. 🎭Part One: My life before music.

It really is true! Our education system is all focused around memory, and rewards people who are good at repeating facts etc. That's not really a required skill these days what with technology so close at hand, even if it is, it's not the only skill set needed. They don't value and develop creative thinking, which is incredibly important even in business, or people that are good at figuring out problems, or have any kind of rewards ad incentives for people with good leadership skills! One of my piano pupils told me that for part of their english exam they have to memorise 15 poems. What's the point? Just let them bring in the book and then discuss them properly, rather than making them worry about remembering poems they'll probably never use again.

Sort:  

It's so sad, and such a waste of a child's brain.. It's definitely not about learning how to think, but more about learning what to think, getting the right answers and advancing yourself into the system as a fully fledged repeater without being a threat to it by thinking too much..
If I learn a poem or a song it's because I love it and it means something to me. What does that teach children if they're being told to just memorise something, to pass a test? It's so dead, they are treating art like a maths equation... Ugh it gets me so mad, and they are doing this the world over, with millions of minds, every day.

You know what we need? The Pied Piper!

I don't know why, I just thought I should lighten the mood :D

Hahaha, that's exactly what we need, someone to just lighten the mood! Sorry I have a tendency to rest on a negative conclusion - you'd better comment more often. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56963.59
ETH 2355.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38