Knowing the Indigenous in me: A short story

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I am over the moon to be posting my first post in Steemit. I was completely clueless as to what I was going to post and I was a little insecure to share my life story over here. I am grateful to @singhbinod08, @sahchandan, @eyedeology for introducing me to Steemit and encouraging me to share my story.

12625849_1688641561415007_1651574944_n.jpg

12463606_1688641458081684_1701477719_n.jpg
My name is Bikki Chhantyal. I was born in a rural area of Nepal, Bongakhani, Baglung about 22 years ago. My family name is “Chhantyal”. Our ancestors used to extract copper, silver etc. from the mines there. The name of village Bongakhani contains “Khani” which means “mine”. Mining was done just from experience and traditional tools. There was no scientific method or tools. People say that our ancestors used to know about mines by sniffing(I don't know how it works). Later, government hiked the tax which our ancestor couldn’t pay.

The occupation shifted to animal husbandry, animal hunting and honey hunting. They used to hunt animals Wild Boar, Krishna Saar, Raate using the primitive tools of bow and arrow local to Bongakhani.

1938tibet.jpg

(credit: http://sirkukri.blogspot.com/2013/08/short-note-on-bow-arrowe-in-nepal-bhutan.html)

Few of the wild flowers found in this region were mildly poisonous in nature. So, the honey produced was psychedelic in nature, which is unique to Nepal.
Because, we were used to living in harsh climate and high altitude, by nature, we were strong and robust with great hunting skill. This was the reason many people from our community joined British army in Gurkha regiment and served in World war. By the time, nobody used to mine. The grass to feed animals is abundant in high hills. My father says and I quote “we used to spend many months alone in the high hills top feeding animals like cow, buffalo etc. We used to come to village occasionally.” My family lived in that place since the beginning implies they were the first to cut down trees and make settlements. So, we are called “Aadhibaasi Janajati” which means “indigenous people”.

honey-hunters-nepal-8[2].jpg

(credit: https://royalmt.com.np/blog/honey-hunters-of-nepal/)

I was born in the time of Maoist insurgence in Nepal. The class struggle was based on caste. The racial discrimination and superstitions were at peak level. So, the suppressed ones in the community supported the revolution. There was constant threat to us from both parties: the ruling and the rebel. Our village was like no man’s land. Army were afraid to go further west and Maoists were afraid to go further east from the village. Occasionally, both parties used to come and threat us. We didn’t want them to come at the same time. But that happened quite often leading to combats. The boarding school which I used to study in was shut down when I was in upper kindergarten. Then, I shifted to government school, Shree Uttarganga high school. I studied there for about 4 years. Then, my family shifted to Kathmandu, the capital of the country.

(credit:https://www.mtholyoke.edu/~bansk20s/world_pol_web/maoistconflict.html )

After I came to Kathmandu, the environment was totally different. It was very difficult to adapt here. I still remember, I cried for the first time when I was enrolled in the school at Kathmandu. Since my early days, I’ve been good in Mathematics. Later, I improved in other subjects. And in school leaving certificate examination, I scored very good grades (top 15 rank wise, overall in Nepal). Then, I did well in my high school and finally got admitted to Institute of Engineering, Pulchowk campus, one of the most prestigious colleges of Nepal. I am an undergraduate student of mechanical engineering. I hope that in future, I will be continuing my ancestral work of mining using scientific tools and techniques and develop mining in Nepal.

26177097_1522556787859239_1905944650_n.jpg

If I were a poet, I would write a poem. If I were an artist, I would sketch. I am into engineering, so, I tried to make a logo of Steemit using equations.

26236513_1522512151197036_882489964_o.png

References:

  1. http://thechhantyal.blogspot.com/

  2. http://www.chhantyal.com/

Sort:  

welcome to steemit @bikkichhantyal...... this marks as a dawn for a long blissful journey.....

Thank you so much for showing me path of beautiful journey.

welcome to steemit @bikkichhantyal, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Thank you for warm welcome. :D

It was very good to know you and your story. We need more people like you in steemit. A very warm welcome to you in steemit from my side.

Thank you so much @aabhushan
I have followed you. :)

Congratulations @bikkichhantyal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit. If I m not wrong, are you currently living in gongabu area??
Anyways welcome to steemit bro. Best wishes for your success in steemit in future.

Yes. I live in Basantanagar, Machhapokhari.
thank you so much bro. :)

I know my friend will be a great steemian some day
welcome bikki bro

I hope so.
Thank you so much bro.
I hope you will also be a great in this game. :D

This post received a 1% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @bikkichhantyal! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .
STEEM Price : 3.188 $

Nice! Finally you're here. Loved the intro man. The community now has an indispensable asset. Welcome to steemit!!

Thank you so much bro. You are the real inspiration behind this act. Thanks again.

Steemit Nepal community is growing strong.
Welcome and best of luck for sucess.

Thank you so much. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48