[1] Another Trip Around the Sun

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1321.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Grassland and Old Stable from Atop a Pile of Hay Bales)

Date: 9/12/17

Nearing the end of another long Pennsylvania Summer. Nowadays, when the weather is nice, I like to hike around my local Farm Park and find a quiet place to read my books. There's no better place to read than out under the sun. In my youth, my parents would bring me here to ride my bike. I remember the time I lost control of the steering and wrecked on the blacktop at the bottom of the big hill. My legs were so bloody and sore my Mom carried me all the way back to the car as I clung to her shoulders trying not to cry from the pain and embarrassment. To this day, I shake my head and smile every time I walk past that infamous hill and the spot where we hid my mangled bike. Like a brother, through good times and bad, I'll always love all the time I've spent here, walking along the mile-wide fields of corn, weathered grain mills, tall wild-grass meadows, and forgotten farm stables.

IMG_1301.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Main Trail)

IMG_1303.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Main Trail through some Trees)

IMG_1306.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Creekside)

IMG_1309.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Reading By The Creek)

IMG_1314.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Old Grain Mill)

IMG_1316.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Inviting Pile of Hay Bales)

IMG_1318.JPG
(Norristown Farm Park -- Fields of Corn from Atop the Hay Bales)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @biglocomotive99
What a beautiful area to read a good book and your book looks
very interesting! Did it mention King Solomans Agate?
also known as Suleiman Agate.
Wishing you a great steemit experience!

Hey @shasta thank you! South Eastern Pennsylvania is a daydream in the summer! I don't remember the book mentioning that stone specifically, perhaps I missed it while reading though. The book tells a fictional tale about 3 men who cross the African desert following a dead mans treasure map to find the great diamond mines of King Solomon in a place called Kukuanaland, Africa. Not my favorite writing style, but certainly a good adventure-filled story!

@biglocomotive9925
Looks very dreamy there, especially the creek, I wanted to ask
if you found the needle in the hay stack? :-) nice view from up there!

Welcome to Steem @biglocomotive99 I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you, much appreciated! @bottymcbotface

Thank you for the feedback @dobroman , appreciate it!

beautiful sights, thanks for sharing

Thanks @Collinz ! You're the man!

welcome to the crypto-currency universe

Congratulations @biglocomotive99! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75