Brief Overview of Me

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My friend Nigel suggested I introduce myself and I am reluctantly agreeing.

Hi, my name is Josh. I grew up in a rather dysfunctional family. Mom is an addict (I was so graciously passed that in my genetics) and my dad was a Fed (whats that saying about apples and trees?)

mee.jpg
Me wearing Dick Tracy PJ's and my dads work uniform

When I was 13 they separated and I got lost along the way. My dad being out of town a lot and the parental alienation I was subjected to, made me want to be with my mom. Only issue was she was too doped up to know I existed. Before I go any further, I'd like to make it clear, I LOVE BOTH MY PARENTS! They did the best they knew how and loved me in very different ways.

Because I felt like my family was kaput, I started just roaming the street. I met a kid named Scribble and he introduced me to loads of kids around my age in a similar situation. Instead of going home, I stayed with the Lost Boyz.

lb.jpg
At a concert with one of my brothers

We had somewhat of a Robin Hood mentality, rob from the rich and give to... well, us. Later on, I ended up dropping out of school and heavily using. Not my finest hour for sure, but I wouldn't be who I am now if it weren't for that.

skinny.jpg
I had started down the rabbit hole. I was just under 200 lbs here (I am normally about 250)

My last day bit of active addiction was pretty bad, better than death (as i see it now), but I wished for the end repeatedly. I was arrested for the umpteenth time and was facing 5-15 years for all my vop's (violation of probation) and other charges.

71239441.jpg
(This was a rather glorious day, though I would see it as such until years later.)

I held the record for most violations of Broward Drug Court and for the longest time in the diversion program without getting kicked out. This was my last chance and I was court ordered to complete many programs and rehabilitation courses. Either that, or go up the road!

prison-370111_960_720.jpg
Not fun at all

I went to treatment from jail, then to a halfway house. It was a grueling process, but well worth it.

j1.jpg

Well, my fox hole prayers worked, I ended up getting, and so far staying sober! I now have a much better understanding and quality of life! I have made a life for myself and now my 2 kiddoz!

20170116_170813.jpg

3 musketeers.jpg
The patented Goofy Goobers face!

Now I am a single dad with 100% timeshare of Bubba and BooBoo. I work a full-time and many part time jobs to make ends meet. But it is all worth it as long as I can maintain my children's loving environment!

I only have good days and great days. A good day is when everything goes in my favor and I don't pick up. A great day is when NOTHING goes well at all, and I don't pick up.

Thanks for reading, if you have any questions, leave a comment!

Sort:  

CryptoPBot-Bienvenue3.jpg

Hello friend, welcome in this wonderful world of steemit. You will soon be addictive like us to this network.

It seems pretty awesome so far!

Welcome to Steem @bigbeard I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks! @bottymcbotface lol. You're awesome!

Welcome here Bigbeard !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thanks, WILL DO!

Congratulations @bigbeard! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

AYE!!!!!!!! Officially Welcome you to Steemit my brother !!! see you soon keep up the good content!!!

Thanks brother!

Welcome Josh. I have that SAME light fixture (different shades on it) and hit my head on that damn thing all the time. Kudos for parenting alone. Good luck!

Welcome to steemit @bigbeard .., regards to know from me .., hopefully can support each other, show me your work .., i @rerycore will be present to upvote and follow you ..,

Hello and welcome to steemit @bigbeard.
It's a great community over here, hope you enjoy it and have a great time and make lots of new friends.
Best of luck, here's an upvote from me 🙂

The upvote and warm welcomes are appreciated!

I am so glad you introduced yourself to us. Your journey is one that will inspire so many. What a beautiful family you have and those goofy goober faces are the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36