Hello Steemers, My name is Bryant Harper and I want to talk to you about Death, Death by Wandering, and how we can stop it.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hi, my name is Bryant Harper and I want to introduce you to a cause I am passionate about and I hope you will be too.

I call it Stop Death By Wandering!

People with Alzheimer’s Symptoms, Autism or any other dementia who wander are in danger of dying!

Currently over 100 million people just in the US require oversight due to various forms of memory impairment. That number is expected to increase to 277 million by 2050, according to The 2013 World Alzheimer's Report.

  • 60% of them will become “lost” at least once
  • 70% of those will become “lost” 3 or more times
  • 46% of wanders not found within 24 hours may die

The problem is twofold.

  1. People don't yet know that there is a simple elegant solution to save the ones who do wander
  2. People who care for those at risk are in denial, "What? No, that won't happen to Mom..."

The solution is the GPS SmartSole.

It is a GPS Tracker embedded in an Insole that looks and feels just like one from Dr. what's-his-name.

The GPS SmartSole was developed over 10 years by a small public company by the name of GTX Corp (GTXO), of which I am a stockholder. Here is a short video overview of the product.

The company is small and is having a difficult time raising awareness of the SmartSoles although there has been terrific response in the media and governments.

My mission is to raise awareness of this brilliant life saving solution and to make the SmartSoles a household name.

GTX Corp has done a wonderful job of making the product effective and easy to use for not technical caregivers. Here is a video Quick Start and Set Up Guide so you can see how easy it is to use.

SmartSoles are currently available in a number of countries including the US, Canada, Germany, the UK and Ireland. You can see a full list on the main website here.

The costs are not too bad and will come down as the company sells more and can increase production. Currently the cost is 299.00 for the SmartSoles and around $20 a month for the monitoring service.

The GPS unit in the insole communicates with a portal website and updates the location. The portal is available with any connected device via browser or Smartphone app.

Geo Fences, or Safe Zones, can be defined and alerts are sent via SMS and Email anytime the SmartSole crosses a Safe Zone boundary.

Dr. Andrew Carle is a major champion of the technology and the product. He demonstrates the SmartSole and the use of Safe Zones in this interview with a Fox News station.

OK, so a little about me. I am an old, 64 years old, coder and I've been around here for a while. I published my first website in 1994. My wife and I founded a thing called Code Amber back in 2002 to spread the awareness of Amber Alerts by publishing them on the Web using a simple Javascript we distributed to websites. At one time we were serving over 2 million JS tickers a day. Amber Alerts are now ubiquitous so we're calling that one good.

So now, please help us spread the word about the GPS SmartSoles. You can use the little Share thingie to easily post to the other, outdated, social networks please.

Another Disclaimer: We intend to use any funds raised here on Steem to fund awareness campaigns for the GSP SmartSoles.

I intend to publish more information on Alzheimer's, Autism (there is a horrible problem with Autistic kids wandering) and other types dementia on a regular basis so please follow me if you are interested in continuing this journey with me.

Thank you and God Bless!

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, this is such a brilliant idea. I'm so glad you're also aiming to let people know about this who have family members on the Autism spectrum. It's not always possible to watch vulnerable loved ones 24/7 - especially if they become intent on wandering. What a wonderful tech application!

Thank you for your kind words. Autism is an are of real concern. I will be publishing an interview and some more information about the use of the insoles for adult Autistics in the next day or so.

I definitely need these for my kids.

HI Smarit, children's sizes are due a little later this year. I will most definitely do an announcement here.

I know a few of my friends have parents with Alzheimer's and I have a nephew with autism. I can see something like this can help. Thanks for the insight.

Genius idea to help solve a massive problem Brian. Big respect to you and I hope you succeed in reaching those that would clearly benefit so hugely.

I wish I could keep upvoting for this! My father in law was a wanderer and we could have definitely used SmartSoles for him. Fantastic idea.

That is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50