EX Rockstar Turned Homesteader Leaving Youtube For STEEMIT our First Post

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

We Verified that this is really us on our Youtube page HERE Thanks all, learning as we go ;)
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClBCi5TpnTXorbRke79UyLw/about

Howdy all!

My name is Brad. Just barely out of high school I got a record deal with three of my buddies in a band called Scarecrow and Tinmen. We had hits on the radio and toured the world while building up a recording studio and video production company but now, I'm a Homesteader. Huh? Homesteader? Yes, a Homesteader. About six years ago my wife and seven kids began a journey in the world of self reliance. Brad 2000.jpg

It all started as a random thought... Huh, I wonder what it would be like to keep bees? It was a pesky thought that would not leave me alone. I chatted with my wife about my pondering, and she was less than excited about the idea, much less excited. I could not shake it, and signed up for a beekeeping class at a local beekeepers club and I was hooked. My wife found an interest in gardening and then backyard chickens. We wanted to know more and more about food production, canning, goats, cows, solar power, rain catchment how to weld and even make cheese. The list of things “self reliant” we were learning was growing and made a Youtube channel to share with the community our successes and our mistakes.
THUMB FIRE.jpg
Our YT channel quickly grew to over 45k subscribers and has been a foundation for like minded folks to come together to share ideas and methods on all things homesteader. Recently Youtube has been censoring content that they deem inappropriate to a general audience, like why we encourage people to get involved in the production of their own food. Videos have been demonetized, and censored for encouraging people to consider having chickens rather than purchasing the meat from corporate food producers. We have not violated any of the posted rules YT has posted, yet we keep getting punished for following their own rules.

I am super excited having found STEEMIT through a video posted by An American Homestead. I will be moving all of the content I have that is applicable here as I am able, if folks like the content. I look forward to a fruitful time here with the STEEMIT folks and hope that our Big Family Homestead family becomes a beneficial member of the community.

Brad, Christa and crew
Bread Thumb.jpg

Pic7.jpg

THUMB.jpg

PIC.jpg

Sort:  

Wait people have been deemed inappropriate for youtube for advocating self reliance? REALLY?? That's bull. Giving ya a follow

Steemate for the WIN! Thanks, hope that you like the content, this seems like it's gonna be a blast here.

Welcome to Steemit! The YouTube Adpocolypse is very real! But you have found a new home here!

You bet! I am excited about the STEEMIT platform and hope that our content here is well received.

It will be. Just keep in mind that Steemit is a little different than YouTube and your following and compensation will work differently. None the less it is a great addition to what you have already been doing on YouTube and you can gain a whole new income stream and tap into a totally different economy!

Welcome! Glad to have you here on Steemit.
Could you put some sort of a link on your Youtube or website page so that we know it's really you? Then edit and link it into your intro here.
This is called "Verification" and people will be hesitant to vote if they are not sure that these videos are really your own.
Thanks!

Coconut,
Thank you so much for the info, I would have really missed that! I did put the STEEMIT link in our about page on Youtube... https://www.youtube.com/channel/UClBCi5TpnTXorbRke79UyLw/about

Thank you VERY much!

We also put it in this post. BTW, we homeschool too! Thanks again :)

Awesome -- I see that link on Youtube now!
It's nice to have some more homeschoolers here!
I would suggest to be cautious about putting too many posts out in one day, at least at the beginning. It will take time for your followers to build up, so right now only a few people are seeing each post. And if you put all your best stuff out there right at the beginning you will miss so many views and votes.
Also, I know that I am hesitant to give too many votes to one person on the same day as we are all limited to how many votes that we can give out without diluting our voting power. For example, if you put out 5 posts on the same day you may get 5 votes at 20% from a follower rather than 1 vote at 100%. That is not always true but is something to keep in mind.
I wish you all the best here.

WOW, I really appreciate the heads up. I hear you on the frequency of posts, do you find there is a "sweet spot" number? The thing is that I've been on YT over 2 years and I have tons of content, but I want to do what's best for the community here...

For one thing, someone here who is learning about you for the first time doesn't usually have the time to listen to 5 of your videos on the same day. Especially when they have other posts to check in their feed too and lots of things to read on Steemit. They will be overwhelmed with so much information at once.

I would say that 2 posts a day would be good for you, but it's your decision. Start slowly though, and then maybe down the road try 3 in one day to see the response.

Also, take time to interact with the community. Go and comment on other posts if you have something worthwhile to say. Find common ground with people. Don't ask them to follow you, but they may do just that if they see you involved on their own posts.
If you become involved in the community, they will reciprocate, but it takes time.

Thank you very much bitgeek, this really seems like a pretty cool place!

Welcome to the Steemit community Brad. I look forward to reading your posts! #newfollower

Thanks King, I am pretty excited. I'll be checking out your content as well :)

hello bfhomestead....its your ole pal mikeemiller here .....just followed you'uns here on this platform.....we'll chat later.....

This Steemit thing is pretty cool, glad to see you here!

Welcome to Steemit! Enjoy the ride here! :-)

Thanks Bart. I greatly appreciate the comment!

Welcome to steemit!
Upvoted!
Pls follow me @digitaldollar and upvote my current and future posts. Will follow you as well!

Thank you digital, I'll upvote asap!

Wow I am so glad that you joined Steemit @bfhomestead! So looking forward to seeing your homesteading posts.

Suzique, I really appreciate your kind comment, I'll do my best!

Hey BigFamily. Been following you on YT for a while. So happy to see ya here. We just started a homestead ourselves, you guys have been a huge inspiration to us. Welcome and followed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48