Rules of the Blog

I suppose this is the second part of my "introduceyourself", since I want to declare the "rules" I set for myself.

This blog is supposed to help me write better, and be an outlet, but allow me to set some ground rules through a few good men and women:

  1. Moana of Motunui
    "I am Moana of Motunui. You will board my boat, and return the heart to Te Fiti." Vaguely translated: Know who you are, and don't be afraid to be who you are (Rule #1).

  2. Wreck-It Ralph
    Or his friend Fix It Felix. Vaguely translated: Don't just rant, do something about it (Rule #2). This isn't a rant blog on how much I hate unsustainable living and people who use up resources carelessly. This is a call to action and a how-to guide for those who want to do something
    Title: about being and living better.

  3. Donkey from Shrek
    Because he describes Shrek for what he is -- "really, really tall". Can't deny that, Donkey. However, something I want to develop through this blog is my word bank. I am banning myself from using the word "very", or "really" (Rule #3). Good luck to me, really.

  4. Dieter Rams
    Because less, but better (he wrote the book, by the way!) (and Rule #4). Aside from the overall theme of this blog being zero waste, I do not want this to be a brainfart platform (that's what my Twitter is for!). I also don't want to ramble and have long pointless entries. The less words I use to get my point across, the better, so less is better. (Also, a sub-rule would be: edit).

  5. Jack Sparrow
    Because he looks like he's always having fun even when times get tuff. Vaguely translated: Have fun (Rule #5)! Why would I write here if I didn't enjoy it :)

To recap:
Rule #1: Be who you are
Rule #2: Be critical, but not a critic
Rule #3: Don't use "very" (and "really")
Rule #4: Less, but better
Rule #5: Have fun
If you think I'm violating any of these rules, feel free to give me a (virtual) slap.

The original version of this post was on my blog (www.bernalou.com) on 4 September 2017.

Sort:  

They sound like good rules, especially the one about be critical but not a critic.

Nice to meet you, @bernalou! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

I look only to the good qualities of men. Not being faultless myself, I won't presume to probe into the faults of others.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulations @bernalou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65364.69
ETH 2650.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86