Greetings / Greenings from Planet Earth!

bouleversement_climat-2-1024x576.jpeg

Over the long weekend, I watched Mission Antarctique, a documentary series about Antarctica (surprise!) directed by Jean Lemire. It showed the impact of our consumption on the most remote area on the planet and the creatures that live there. This stirred my interest again in living a zero-waste lifestyle. I can't imagine that the coldest place on the planet is the fastest warming, thanks to our carbon emissions and wastage. I know, we're all to blame, but there are several ways to take action to combat global warming and to conserve our environment.

I've thought about living zero-waste before, but after researching what it entails, it's really daunting. I would like to think I'm already pretty conscious about my waste (especially with single-use plastics like straws and grocery bags), but zero-waste is a whole new league. I can't imagine everything I use will have to be biodegradable or sustainable. On a certain level, that would be great, but given my reality (and accessibility to sustainable items), goodbye skincare products, using cotton pads, and eating bags of chips! If I could go straight to the source and ask them to put shampoo or toner or Cheetos into my own reusable containers, maybe I would do that. These are only the things I eat or put on my body. Don't even get me started on energy consumption.

What's difficult about loving the environment and wanting to do something to conserve it is that most of the time, your actions will contradict themselves, or you might look like a hypocrite, or that you need to gain critical mass to really make a difference. What I want from this project is to take baby steps to save our beautiful Mother Earth so future generations can bask in its beauty. If I can convince at least one person to join me on this crusade, that is good enough for me.

Photo: 13 Productions http://www.13productions.fr/projection-mission-antarctique/

Posted on www.bernalou.com on 4 September 2017

Sort:  

Welcome!!

Thank you!!

Welcome

Welcome to Steemit @bernalou!!! I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I am here to welcome and support new users and their introduction posts! I have upvoted and Resteemed your post! I'm not a bot, I just want to give back to the community by supporting new users! Remember to have fun here and Keep on Steemin'!

Thanks for the warm welcome, @gogogadgetupvote! I shall have fun over here!

Welcome to Steem @bernalou I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for the tip! I shall read it if I can find it haha!

Welcome to Steemit!

If you want to make the most of the community here as a newbie, may I recommend strongly that you get signed up with the #MinnowSupportProject? It's a great way to find folks with similar interests here on Steemit. Information about the PALnet MSP is HERE. We even have some writing workshops there!

My best wishes to you!

Thanks! I'll definitely check this out :)

Hi, Bernalou, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Thanks @dobroman! I might take you up on that soon. I'm still learning the ropes of this site

@bernalou Thanks for your work sir.... Love it.

Hi welcome sa steemit @bernalou sana mas marami ka pang maipakita na mahahalaga at makabuluhan na istorya or kwento. Ako pala si @purepinay huwag kang mahihiya na humingi ng payo sa kapwa Pilipino dito. Saan ka sa Manila pala kasi tumira din ako sa Manila mga higit kumulang pitong taon. Sana huwag mong kamlimutan na tingnan ang aking profile. Salamat!

Salamat! Excited na ako na magbasa ng mga kuwento dito.

welcome to steemit @bernalou
following you now :D
follow me back pls :)

Thanks @thailand-funfun! I've been to Thailand and it was pretty funfun indeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43