This is going to be as embarrassing as my first Facebook status update back in 07.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

It's the same thing all over again. I remember this feeling 10 years ago. I'd just gotten access to Facebook. An empty wall was embarrassing, so I really felt that I had to write something. Back then you didn't do Facebook posts. You did status updates. And they had to start with "[your name] is"; that wasn't optional. It was hard coded (i remember the day Facebook finally removed that; it was a good day). The "is" part was especially irritating as my native language is Swedish. I had to choose between writing in English or starting every status update with what in English would be my name followed by "ice".

I would write stuff like: "is paying his bills as he is developing a strong hatred towards Radiotjänst." Radiotjänst is a paragovermental organisation in Sweden to whom you are required by law to pay a television license(!) fee if you own a television... I remember feeling weird writing about myself in third person.

Once I apparantly felt it interesting enough to let the internet know that i was  "home and all out of batteries", or "eating popcorn". All this in English.

When commenting links one wasn't stuck with that irritating is. This called for Swedish. In fact, all other communication with my Swedish friends over Facebook was in Swedish. All but the status updates. Weird. At this time there were a lot of plugins on Facebook. You could grow plants on your wall. You could own your friends as pets:

To my astonishment this "virtual sub-society" can still be found at http://humanpets.com. Anyhow... My comment to this was simply "Vansinne!", or "Madness!" in English. This was the first thing that I shared and commented on Facebook ever. And that, and it, can in many ways be considered a fitting comment on Facebook.

I found one (1) regular status update in Swedish from 2007: "is har smält". "ice has melted". I must have been extremely bored. On the other hand. So is this post kind of. But that's how things are when you are new to something. Especially if that something also is new and evolving. I have no idea what Steemit will be 10 years from now. What I do know is that I'm hopefully going to look back at this post and feel equally as embarrassed as I did today when I looked back at my first ever Facebook status update:

"is at home"

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @benson4 I have sent you a tip

Thank you; It's good to be here!

Congratulations @benson4! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you for making me feel welcome!

Our community is better because you're in it. You should be thanked more often. So thank you for posting!!! Looking forward to more great content!!!

Thanks!! I'll better come up with something to write then.. =)

Welcome abroad! This is a great community. Your work will be appreciated by the community. Keep posting on regular basis. Accolades will come on your way. Way to go, mates
I have sent you a small tip in yours way. Enjoy.
Looking forward seeing your next post.

I'll try not to forget posting. Thanks for the tip!

Hello and welcome to Steemit!
I wish you all the inspiration in the world and tons of fun here.
Please, check out my blog :)
@velimir

Sure, I'll check it out!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Check this contest for newbies- https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70