You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hi Steemit! I am Tanguy, an adventurer, web developer and challenger, always in quest of learning

Does you username have anything to do with the fashion designer? And speaking of the shaolin monks I wondered if this is something you would believe them capable of. Seems impossible, but i obviously am not trained for that.

Sort:  

Nothing to do with the fashion brand :)
About the monk it's totally possible and it fact also not so amazing to reproduce for anybody in reality. You could be surprised or even disappointed, but all the legend and fantasy about the Qi, for at least what I saw, seems to be a crap..

I was very interested to know everythings about it when arrived in the school and then started to ask a lot of questions to studients and young monk. I was very surprised when they told me the preparation they used to do before a show, was nothing to do with Qi, They told me it's only a question of skin training...
My teacher catch me one day asking this questions to young monks, and strenghly advertised me that I should never again speak with them otherwise I would definitively be fired from the school...
I am style wondering if it's because Chinese wants to protect all the international Shaolin business and the fact there is actually no magical behind Qi, or at contrary if it's because there is, and it's forbidden to foreigner to know much about it.

Anyway, after seen their training, I can garanty that all you see in this video :


has nothing to do with Qi, and it's only a skin/muscle training question.

And as you maybe know if you practicing guitar, at the beginning your finger start to build calluses and you don't hurt anymore while pressing the chords, the skin fastly reinforce by herself.

Then some studients who used to easily break heavy wood bar against harm or even iron bar with only their skull, told me I can easily do the same too and after only few weeks of training :
They hit the part of body concerned with a bag of sand, or punch it in case they're into break bricks with lateral parts of hands, about 10 to 15 min few times a day (for the head they also stand on the head against the floor, pressing the front skull while turn it slowly to reinforce a bigger area). I guess about the neck it's more delicate but the technic could use the same principe.

What It's not recommended at all is to replace the bag of sand by something stronger!
I met a practicien in a smaller school who had hands double size of mines, because he was used to hit a real brick wall. Some teachers from my school told me that was stupid and useless cause they will not get any benefit from it and just degraded themself.

That's fascinating. I often wondered if it was a trick and not actually anything mystical. Regardless, it is very interesting to me and I'm glad you shared your experience with me. These are the sort of conversations I lfove on steemit where I am able to learn and you are able to explain and we both come away with value. Great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54635.52
ETH 2893.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03