"Hi", says Ben, the squirrel.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Oh no.
It is happening again.  

I did not listen to Aaron back then.  A couple of years ago, he told me about some new currency he was all excited about. A weird idea, about a digital chain, invented by some mysterious genius.
Interesting.

By then, exchange rates had already gone up drastically, trading at something like 10 US $ for a unit.
I made a mental note to buy some of these funny coins, just for the fun of it. They might even climb some more.
But… I lead a busy life and other things got in the way.

The other day, sitting in a café in Berlin’s Prenzlauer Berg at a recent Bitcoin meetup, listening to @aaronkoenig’s interview with Ned Scott via skype and @sirwinchester’s talk, I felt this strange feeling once again crawling up my spine.
Steem.
This is interesting…  

Busy or not: Perhaps I should listen this time.
Common sense is shouting at me - Stay focussed, you fool! Not yet another time-consuming construction site on your agenda..!
But my squirrel mind can not resist: this is a very interesting tree to climb on.
Perhaps, there are even some nuts up there? 

Do not get me wrong, nuts are not about money. They are about change.  
Or changes, more precisely speaking.
I am nuts about innovations.   

So, here I am.   

There are even whales around, I heard.
Wonderful.
Makes me feel at home.
For I am actually a marine zoologist - or at least I was when I graduated in this field. It has been so long that I can hardly tell a dolphin from a seal now. But yes, I do have a background of a bit of conservation work for some international groups in this field, followed by running my own projects while studying biology. Only to quit marine biology the day I got my M.Sc.   

Talking hobbies, yacht sailing is not only for the rich when you live by the sea. Working as a deckhand, I hitchhiked on sailing yachts a bit, skippered some run-down university yachts for some years and quit sailing for absolutely no reason some time ago.
I do miss it. Very occasionally.
When I do, I visit some good old friends on their boat on a Friday night, happily clean out their fridge aboard – and be gone before they cast off in the morning.
And for some strange reason, they still like me.  

Travelling? Sure. Whenever I can.
Hardly a weekend at home and when I do, I sleep 12hours+ a night. Kind of speed-napping.   

Having been a practitioner in a school of Tibetan Buddhism for some 15yrs+, I have still not given up hope on attempting to meditate properly one day. A bit difficult for a somewhat hyperactive mind but I keep trying. And as my latest hobby, I got a motorbike-licence. Just love riding my old BMW. No accidents so far, fingers crossed.   

Businesswise, I am now in my fourth career or so, another squirrel habit of leaping from tree to tree when it gets too boring - or someone set fire to my old tree.
I can not complain, the trees are getting a little bit higher and greener each time. Got another master degree last year, a kind of MBA light. Yeeez, am I ever glad I did not know what I got myself into when re-enrolling at university while working fulltime…
Actually, I could have thought of it. 

But some squirrels jump first and think later.
Makes life more exciting.   

And this is what I am doing here: Leaping into the blogging world.
Full Steem ahead!  


Photo sources: Squirrel - (Photograph by Ray eye

Sort:  

You were right. This place is full of nuts and basket cases. :D

Welcome to Steemit! People seem to forget Steemit is still in beta and could have a low higher user base in 6 months. I'm excited. Also good to keep in mind that MySpace used to be bigger than FaceBook lol.

Thanks! Lets see. And after all, we make this thing happen. Thats what I really like about it.

How does an octopus go to war? -WELL-ARMED

Tsze-Kung asked, saying, is there one word which may serve as a rule of practice for all one's life? The Master said, Is not Reciprocity such a word? What you do not want done to yourself, do not do to others.

It's cool to have more sailors here :)
Don't hesitate to pass by Sailors chat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87