Hi! I'm Carl Richards, creator of the weekly Sketch Guy column in the New York Times.

Hi folks! I am the creator of the weekly Sketch Guy column in the New York Times, author of “The Behavior Gap” and “The One-Page Financial Plan”, a certified financial planner, and a columnist for Morningstar Advisor.

Driven by a relentless curiosity about investor behavior, I started a research project two decades ago and it has grown into Behavior Gap. Armed with a Sharpie and a stack of napkins, my simple sketches make complex concepts easy to understand. Every week, I cover topics like money, creativity, happiness, and health with a simple sketch and a few hand-crafted words.

I am interested in what is brewing here on Steemit. I plan to get to know the community here and share what I am working on over at Behavior Gap. In particular, I have been thinking about the imposter syndrome, getting in over our heads, and cultivating a growth mindset.

I will post here as new ideas come to me and I would love to hear what you think.

More about me:
I live with my family in New Zealand and enjoy the outdoors. My art has appeared in a solo show in Park City, Utah and other showings include The Parson’s Gallery in New York, The Shultz Museum, and an exhibit at the Mansion House in London. My commissioned work is on display in businesses and educational institutions around the world.

Here's why I created one of my most popular sketches, called "Elegant Simplicity":

Thanks for reading!
–Carl Richards

Sort:  

Hi Carl! Welcome to Steem... I've been fascinated by Growth Mindset for a while so I'll be very excited to see your posts when they come out.

Thank you! You might like what I just posted. As many of us start the year with a list of goals, I propose we try this: Think about the people you know who have worked away, a little bit at a time, on their projects over the years. What’s one little thing you can do every day to move forward on one of your projects? More of my thoughts on this.

Hi @behaviorgap welcome to steemit world, hope see great things in your profile!

Welcome to Steemit! I never heard about Behavior Gap, defenitely have to check it out. Looking forward to read from you.

Wow I love interesting personalities! And you live in NZ, that dream place? I'd like to read more of your posts so I follow you :)

Yeah, love it in New Zealand for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56