Sisters are forever!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Today, I started my day normally. Got up, prepared breakfast and checked Steemit in between. I have told about Steemit to serious bloggers I know. Those whose writings I'm sure will interest other readers here, like my sister. She is very smart and writes really well. This morning she surprised me by commenting on one of my posts. Finally, she's here!!!

IMG_20180131_170710.jpg
My favorite picture of my sister.

IMG_20180131_164409.png

When I told her I quit my job and decided to work from home, she was the first to offer help. I asked her if she has extra computer I can use because the one I had at home has been outdated. She said she didn't have any and the next day, she messaged that she bought me a new one.

She's nice like that. She was the first to help even when she was halfway across the globe, that time me and John got into a car accident.

No, we didn't grow up the bestest of sisters. And no, we didn't fight a lot either. We just didn't connect, I guess. Most of her childhood years were spent in Baguio (Philippines) with my grandparents from our father. While me and my other brother stayed with our parents in Manila. When she was in first grade, my parents brought her back to stay with us. Then added two more siblings. Yeah, we're five kids (then).

FB_IMG_1517357320565.jpg
(Clockwise, Nanang, my brother, me and my sister.)

We didn't talk a lot. She has her own set of friends and I did too. I read a lot but she read a lot more. She's brave, I'm not. I remember her staying home alone at our ancestral house even when stories of haunting had been going around about that house. She's very smart and I'm just the average. She's won a lot of Regional Science Contests while I just watched and cheered from a far. She finished high school at the country's most prestigious Science institution, Philippine Science High School and I was very proud of her. She topped her licensure exam for Instrumentation and Control Engineering and I wished to be like her.

FB_IMG_1517389331281.jpg
She'd hate me for exposing her like this!

She is very talented, no wonder she was rubbing elbows before with one of the country's pop rock band, Parokya Ni Edgar. Because, she used to be in a band. She plays guitars, drums, keyboards and she sings too! She is really pretty. Growing up, we've transferred from one school to another and boys from every school we got to just adored her.

FB_IMG_1517355369665.jpg
The ultimate champion in winning her heart, kuya B.

You know what's odd? Us, who both lived in the same house never got too close. It was only when she moved to the US when we started to have that close sister ties.

FB_IMG_1517355222679.jpg
With our next generations.

Maybe because I kept comparing myself to her and everytime she just kept winning. Later in life I realized, she wasn't a competition. She's my sister. She's my family. And then it hit me, I just wanted to be like her. Had I pushed so hard, I would have been and my parents would have been proud of me as they were with her. But it's too late for that now. Anyway, what matters now is that I have her. In my life's recent ups and downs, she's always been there.

FB_IMG_1517388849191.jpg
Lovely, yeah?

I know I haven't told her but I'm the proudest to have her. And no other girl can replace her as my sister, her and Ali.

FB_IMG_1517388683990.jpg
Kiero's best Aunties.

No, she hasn't made her #introduceyourself post yet and I'm just the excited sister who couldn't wait to introduce her to the Steemit World. So folks, my sister - @itsonlywords!

Thanks for reading!

Love,
Jonah (and John)

Sort:  

A warm welcome to your sister! I have a talented sister who I am very close to, even though we live on different continents, so I know where you are coming from!

I'm thankful technology happened when we went our own lives. It isn't as hard to keep in touch anymore.

Thanks for dropping by.

Awesome post :)

Hi Welcome to Steem. Congratulations! It's an awesome community. I followed you. Please follow back. Good Luck.82dac99-285x300.jpg

Thanks for bringing another member to the platform! I hope that your sister does well here.

Thank you! I hope so!

My Steemit just got approved an hour ago and I've read some of your steemit posts @beatenegg.
I was teary eyed reading this post because I saw you two grow up. Your mom must be smiling up in heaven. Your parents raised smart, kind-hearted and talented kids!
Keep on writing good stories and I don't care if I bawl on some of them.

Ate Peach? Yay! We're growing! High five!

Did you know that it felt like you're our eldest sister? 🤗🤗🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36