INTRODUCING BEASTLY BANTER - NEW TO STEEMIT

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

The following submission began when I had lost my job back in the 1990's. In an attempt to fill the void I tried my hand at Real Estate which, as I recall, was not the most promising period to do so. This left me with plenty of free time as business prospects were pretty slow. I start to dabble with writing a book of poetic salute to the world of all animal creation. I had wanted to do this for my children for some time so I slowly completed 26 poems with what I hoped contain an instructive and humorous vein. When completed I thought that each should have it's own illustration. So began BEASTLY BANTER, here presented in 27 instalments. I hope you and your children enjoy!
Richard Hersel

cover.png

BEASTLY BANTER
(When Beast meets Pest)

PREFACE
This book is written, as you will see,
To provide some fun for you, (and me).
And not just fun with novel beasts,
But poetic fun with rhyming feasts.
All revolving around our alphabet A B C,
And involving some sound geography.
Pictures, too, readily illustrate
Beasts of all types, both small and great.
Some can be nice, others a pest,
But in pictures all try to appear their best!
You’ll see that to like them is not so hard,
To create an unusual beast ‘barnyard.’
This book is written to amuse those of any age,
Both the young and the old it’s designed to engage!
I’m sure that most will very readily
Devour the contents and quite agree
That entertainment can be much, much worse,
Than enjoying pictures and funny verse.
And so, without further a do,
I've done my bit; it’s up to you!
The Author

beatle_book.png

BEASTLY BANTER
CONTENTS

PREFACE
"A" - AARDVARK (Orycteropus afer)
"B" - BANDICOOT (Perameles nasuta)
"C" - CACKLER (Pomatostomus temporalis)
"D" - DROMEDARY (Camelus dromedarius)
"E" - EIDER (Somateria mollissima)
"F" - FROG EATING BAT (Trachops cirrhosus)
"G" - GNU (Connochaetes taurinus)
"H" - HIPPOPOTAMUS (Hippopotamus amphibius)
"I" - IBEX (Capra ibex)
"J" - JABIRU (Xenorhynchus australis)
"K" - KRILL (Euphausia superba)
"L" - LLAMA (Auchemia llama)
"M" - MUSK OX (Ovibos moschatus)
"N" - NUMBAT (Myrmecobius fasciatus)
"O" - ORIOLE (Oriolus sagittatus)
"P" - PORTUGUESE MAN O’ WAR (Physalia physalis)
"Q" - QUETZAL (Pharomachrus mocino)
"R" - RHINOCEROS (Rhinocerus unicornis)
"S" - SCORPION (Scorpio viatoris)
"T" - TOAD (Bufo vulgaris)
"U" - UAKARI (Cacajao calvus)
"V" - VICUÑA (Vicugna vicugna)
"W" - WALRUS (Odobenus rosmarus)
"X" - XEROMYS MYOIDES (False water rat)
"Y" - YAK (Bos grunniens)
"Z" - ZITTING CISTICOLA (Cisticola juncidis)
EPILOGUE

Sort:  

Great introduction, how are you? Welcome to steemit continue this great work. =)

Welcome to Steemit @beastlybanter. You said you wrote and illustrated this for your children. I know it's just the first installment, but that's quite the undertaking nonetheless. Did you ever try to get it published? I don't know what styles are in for children's books now, but it definitely looks like something young ones would have fun being read to or reading themselves.

It's good to know another creative here. Good luck.

Hi. Thanks for the welcome. I have had the book published both in a hard copy paperback and an e-book.

Welcome to Steemit. I really like your creative illustrations. I look forward to your further posts.

Welcome, hope you enjoy your time in steemit, I like the drawings. Look forward to seeing your posts.

I think your work is fantastic, original, creative and down to earth.
My family and I look forward to seeing more of you through your writing and art work.

welcome! UPvoted and followed you. I hope you will do the same! :)

Thanks for the welcome.

Welcome beastlybanter !!!
So glad you started posting and joined steemit ! Can't wait to read more from you.

Welcome to steemit friend very good post continue like this. I wait for your publications

Congratulations @beastlybanter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

👨 I agree with you on how to tell the story in this book. It's very nice.

🐶 Welcome to Steemit~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56456.73
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13